Old 04-05-2012, 10:55 PM   #1

1963 16' Bambi
San Francisco , California
Bambi Value?

Hi! I am new to Airstream and new to The Forum. Thank you in advance for any information you may be able to lend.
I aquired an old Bambi 16 in a real estate deal a few years ago. It was being used as a construction trailer and is completely gutted. I installed new windows, weather stripping, screens, repacked the axial and basically made it road worthy. I re registered it with the DMV and I live near San
Francisco.
I am looking to sell it as I do not have the time to finish the remodel project. It needs everything, but it is apparently a pretty desireable model.
Does anyone know how to go about finding out what this trailer might be worth?
Thanks!!!
-J

Old 04-06-2012, 02:05 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 22' International CCD
2007 Base Camp
Elk Valley , British Columbia
If you know real estate then you know the value of your trailer is what someone is willing to pay for it. Seriously though, project trailers like yours can be worth as little as $1000 if it might need major work like the floor... if someone was interested in restoring it, it would be a huge issue trying to find a complete interior...

It might make an interesting project, but there isn't much intrinsic value to a stripped Airstream of that vintage...

Old 04-06-2012, 07:52 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1964 17' Bambi II
Vintage Kin Owner
Schererville , Indiana
I humbly disagree that there isn't much intrinsic value to a stripped Bambi. If the body is in good shape, the frame and floor and walls are in good shape, I think there would be plenty of interest. Many people enjoy the challenge of making a new interior and a canvas like a Bambi doesn't come along very frequently. I think you could probably get at least $3000 for a decent, solid shell & floor. Just a guess, however!

1964 Bambi II
1988 Avion 32S
Becky B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:05 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member

1963 16' Bambi
buffalo , Minnesota