Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-18-2012, 11:46 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2009 19' International
Norwood , Massachusetts
Newbie Needs Bambi Purchase Advice Please!

Another Newbie here with first AS purchase decision! After looking around for the last few years, I am considering buying a 2009 19' Int'l O Breeze that is priced at 39.9K and is 1500 mi from my home. I've been to see unit, and this is the exact style & size I want. If not this one I would go vintage.

Concerns: Basically in good shape and everything inside is clean and works, but used for sure. Outside more of a concern since is has been sitting outside at dealers for a year+, and I don't know what problems to look for. Some extra caulking on a couple windows outside & kitchen sink drain, couple small dings, dented propane tube on hitch outside (dealer will replace). I'm concerned about getting axle, tires & brakes checked since I have no one to do that. Dealer will stand behind trailer plus all work, but they are too far from me to take it back to for repairs.Feel like price is too high for condition, but we haven't negotiated yet. Want this model but don't want to take on a camper with potential big problems - minor repairs I don't mind. Can't afford new right now. Advice please? Must make decision ASAP. Thanks!
TikiTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 12:37 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
TikiTime

Welcome to the Forums. Tires, Brakes and suspension certainly should be ok, but you never know until you have an expert look at them. Tires are 4 years old and you should check the date stamp on them, since it is not recommended to use tires more than 5 years old.