Airstream Chat Room Airstream Links Campground & Product Reviews Airstream Classifieds Airstream Articles Blogs Photo Gallery Forum Listings Portal - Home Page

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents




Check out our new sister site AirstreamCentral.com. To contribute an article click here.


Quick Links
- Forum Listings
- Register - it's FREE!
- View Member's Map
- Airstream Articles
- "Live" Chat Room
- View Classifieds
- Post a Classified
- Airstream @ eBay
- Upcoming Rallies
   - Add A Rally
- Rally Discussions
- Repair Discussions
- Search Forums
- Member List
- AIR # Directory
- Member Search
- Profile Photos
- Airstream Photo
- Airstream Links
- Fun & Games
- WBCCI Websites
- WBCCI Unit Forums
- Courtesy Parking
- Campgrounds
- Support & FAQs
- Community Policies
- Helpers Needed




Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2008, 07:37 AM   #827
altamont
3 Rivet Member

altamont's Avatar
Profile:  2007 27' Safari FB SE
Tracy , California
Posts: 219

One in the same

Yup, that's the one. I asked the crook "I noticed that your trailer is no longer on Craigs list. Is there a problem?" and haven't received any answer. Just for fun (slow night) I went to the "shipping" web site. My fraud detection software wouldn't allow me in.

How could anybody be dumb enough to fall for this scam? There are so many glaring holes in the deal.
altamont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 07:42 AM   #828
utee94
Rivet Master

utee94's Avatar

Profile:  1963 26' Overlander
Austin , Texas
Posts: 1,047

Quote:
Originally Posted by altamont
Yup, that's the one. I asked the crook "I noticed that your trailer is no longer on Craigs list. Is there a problem?" and haven't received any answer. Just for fun (slow night) I went to the "shipping" web site. My fraud detection software wouldn't allow me in.

How could anybody be dumb enough to fall for the is scam? There are so many glaring holes in the deal.
It's really sad. I don't think it's necessarily people who are "dumb" but they are certainly not Internet-savvy. My father-in-law is a smart guy, but he's just lost when it comes to his computer. Watching him browse the Web is nearly painful. He clicks on EVERY single thing that you or I would know to NEVER click on. And I could see how he could get scammed by something like this.
utee94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 07:49 AM   #829
altamont
3 Rivet Member

altamont's Avatar
Profile:  2007 27' Safari FB SE
Tracy , California
Posts: 219

All I can say is that if it sounds too good to be true, it probably isn't. Internet savvy has nothing to do with seeing a trailer listed for a tenth of its value.
altamont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 07:48 PM   #830
strmstr69
2 Rivet Member

strmstr69's Avatar
Profile:  1976 Argosy 26
Auburn , Washington
Posts: 45

You notice, they use figures just under the "fed" minimum of ten thousand so the IRS doesn't get notified. Interesting huh?
strmstr69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 02:38 PM   #831
whitelight
aluminauti

whitelight's Avatar
Profile:  Where we , Park it!
Posts: 142
Images: 5

Wow - another 34 for $5800!!

eBay Motors: 1994 34ft AIRSTREAM LIMITED CLASSIC Travel Trailer RV (item 270246669875 end time Jun-19-08 18:12:36 PDT)


Seems like we've seen these pictures before . . . . like the shipping comments left over from real account owner about $2.00 insurance per item . . . .

I contacted the real owner to inform that their account was possibly hijacked.

Anyone else want to report this one to eBay????
whitelight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 04:35 PM   #832
overlander63
Moderator

overlander63's Avatar
Profile:  1974 31' Sovereign
Still in the trailer , Fulltiming
Posts: 12,769
Images: 58

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitelight


Anyone else want to report this one to eBay????
It's already gone.
__________________
Terry
Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine
AIR#2611
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 05:17 AM   #833
Phil and/or Sue
4 Rivet Member

Phil and/or Sue's Avatar

Profile:  1983 31' Excella
1973 31' Sovereign
Ellijay , Georgia
Posts: 465
Images: 68

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitelight View Post

... Seems like we've seen these pictures before . . . . . . .
I didn't see the pictures.

If you can, grab the main pic from the "alledgedly fraud" auction, and post it here. It's interesting to see how many will repeat.

Thanks for acting on it too!
__________________
Phil and/or Sue (with Gus and Penny)
(Buffett RIP 9/15/08)
1983 31' Sovereign
1973 31' Sovereign (project)
'01 Dodge Ram 2500 Quad LWB 2x4 6sp
Cummins Turbo Diesel
AIR 1753
Phil and/or Sue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ebay - 1983 MH Brochure 1985air345 Airstream Motorhome Forums 1 12-05-2002 08:28 PM
Found new A&E awning Dave-O Awnings 4 10-21-2002 08:15 PM
Anthony Edwards Triple Axle 4 Sale on eBay! Cat Our Community 4 05-20-2002 08:20 AM
How to include multiple pictures in a post! PeterH-79MH Forum How-To's & Support 1 02-23-2002 10:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0.1

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:15 AM.

Other Social Knowledge forum communities:
Cooking Forum - Sailing Forum - Early Retirement - Airstream Trailer - Aquarium Forum - Royal Forum - Book Forum - Volkswagen Touareg Forum - Jeep Wrangler Forum - Whitewater Kayaking & Rafting Forum - Fiberglass RV Forum - RV Forum - Truck Conversion - U2 Music Forum
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.

eXTReMe Tracker

Other recommended Airstream sites:
Airstream Forums - Airstream Classifieds - Airstream Articles
Airstream Central - Airstream Photos