I had emailed the actual seller but never got a response....after looking at their history it shows they haven't bought or sold anything in about 3 years....so who knows. it is a stolen account though, and he's asking for a wire transfer to Alameda CA, his name is definitely eastern european. ive contacted ebay numerous times on this, the last message i got from them was that it was being investigated but could not reveal anymore info to me....maybe theyre setting up a bust, not sure. i bid it up to $30K but was cancelled and blocked, as was a friend who i asked to bid it up with me. the 'seller' has continuously cancelled bids in order to keep it lower than their 'asking price' of $8,900. i hope this scum bag..........i mean scammer, get's what's coming to him or i'll lose all faith in man kind.
Did you email to the address in the auction description, or message to account holder?
I am still high bidder this morning. I sent a Ebay message requesting location to set up an inspection. I will not use the description email.
I started to report this to ebay, but couldn't get the exact match on the drop-down reasons they ask for.
Here are a couple of pics from the auction: no palm trees anywhere. Anybody recognize these from anywhere? Is this really a 2002 model?
Phil
__________________ Phil and/or Sue (with Gus, Penny and Roger)
(Buffett RIP 9/15/08) 1983 31' Sovereign 1973 31' Sovereign (project) '01 Dodge Ram 2500 Quad LWB 2x4 6sp Cummins Turbo Diesel
AIR 1753
Last edited by Phil and/or Sue; 03-16-2009 at 08:01 AM.
Reason: funny spelling...sorry.
Hey, where is this trailer located anyway? St James City is the location listed in the auction, but the pictures do not show a single palm tree.
I Googled St James City for location, and images, and it's on the Gulf on an island not too far from Ft Myers. Every single image that I looked at (lots of real estate pictures) had palm trees in it.
Saint James City is a small village at the south end of Pine Island. There are a couple of trailer parks there, our Sovereign came from the KOA in Saint James City.
Here are a couple of pics from the auction: no palm trees anywhere. Anybody recognize these from anywhere? Is this really a 2002 model?
Phil
no clue on the model year... but i really think that doesn't look like FL at all. the ground looks like red clay. could be anywhere from GA to VA with that ground, but still nothing like the sandy ground in FL. hard to tell for sure because the pics are kinda small, but background trees look like mostly pines, and one tree that's shaped, and colored, like a young maple tree. the pines may be southern, but the maple-ish tree isn't. i'd say these pics were taken somewhere a bit north of where they're SUPPOSED to be from :-/
Warning....2005 19ft Bambi Solar---- scam still active. Same scam, different year. A warning from a newbie....there is a CraigsL-ing for airstream (as described).The lowered price excused as being from need during these economic times...it contains a link to a counterfeit eBay Motors site....with Buy Now! price of $5,800.00 Deposit $2,000. All eBay Motors guarantees, treasury and safety notices have been counterfeited. Please beware....the logo is an excellent fake....the corporate eBay Motors language is all cut and pasted during correspondence. However it falsely describes new payment protection thru "ebay wire service" The email is ebaypayment@ebay-moto.com The scammer is Russian by "written style English" on Craig's List. Uses the name Odell Phillips when requesting WUnion funds to NY NY. He has a fake fax number that responds with eBay Motors corporate response info. I just joined and read airforum scam alert reports dating back a few years!! with the same Bambi photos....as were posted last week..on CL. It seems to be the same scammer.....same Bambi. BTW this was done by hacking into my blackberry account via Yahoo...then phished.....I have closed that account, but prior to closing it....the scammer immediately began phishing by flashing false "account info requests" every time used URL for Craigs List. Phishing immediately then 'extended' to my friends on that Yahoo mailing list. Be smart. Be safe. Be happy. Dont fall for this one!!!!! I did. Still plan to join you all out there on the road! Hopefully a little smarter...and definitely happier.
this ad for a very desirable 22' Argosy (that someone on the forums has probably painted) has the same MO as recent eBay bogus ads:
- 3 day listing
- contact be outside of eBay
- new account with 0 feedback
- and the signature "contact me form" outside of eBay
- the guy wants $10,200
-started at $200
This time the scammer seems to be in Kansas.
Let's see if my cousin in Wichita can come & inspect it!
Last edited by whitelight; 11-06-2009 at 11:59 PM.
Reason: edit link
Too bad you couldn't get a pic and post it here. I always like to see what was offered, and compare it to other previous scams.
Phil
The listing still seems to be active - for some reason, copying the link & posting it didn't seem to work.
I did manage to print the listing to a PDF file. The MO on this one is identical to several trailer scams that have been recently pulled by eBay. One scam was for a 68 Safari & the other we noted was for a 2004 Montana. Note on the second page of the PDF the wording of the bid terms & the "ask seller a question" form. All three ads had the same "final price" in red.
If you go into the actual listing on eBay, you cannot highlight this 2nd page text to copy it, so it's definitely not the standard html format.
I did report this to eBay last night under the inappropriate link category.