Item number: 180237883753 NOTICE: THIS LISTING IS RESTRICTED TO PREAPPROVED BIDDERS/BUYERS ONLY.
E-mail the seller to be placed into bidders/buyers list. Watch this item in My eBay var ss0ImageUrls = descImageUrls = [ [ "http://images2.auction123.com/sizequalitypredef/004a3281-e1e8-458e-9206-3701f0e4cd09/-----------/01.jpg?webimage001m", "http://images2.auction123.com/sizequalitypredef/004a3281-e1e8-458e-9206-3701f0e4cd09/-----------/01.jpg?webimage001m", "http://images2.auction123.com/sizequalitypredef/004a3281-e1e8-458e-9206-3701f0e4cd09/-----------/01.jpg?webimage001m" ,"http://images2.auction123.com/sizequalitypredef/004a3281-e1e8-458e-9206-3701f0e4cd09/-----------/01.jpg?webimage001m" ] ];
View larger picture price:US $5,500.00 Buy It Now >
document.write ('Get low monthly payments');Get low monthly paymentsEnd time:Jul-14-07 06:45:15 PDT (4 days 20 hours)Shipping:See item description for shipping details.
Sells to:United States, CanadaItem location: Free Shipping to, United States & Canada You can also:
Get alerts via Text message or Instant Messaging Email to a friend Listing and payment details: HideShow
Starting time:
Jul-09-07 06:45:15 PDT
Buy it Now price :
US $5,500.00
Duration:
5-day listing
This is a Featured Plus! listing
Payment methods:
Other - See Seller's payment instructions for payment methods accepted See details
Buy safely1. Check the seller's reputation
Score: 2 | 100% Positive Read feedback comments2. Learn how you are protected Free buyer protection coverage
eBay provides up to $20,000 in fraud protection for this vehicle.
Description
Item Specifics - RVs & Campers
Type: Travel Trailer
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN): -----------
Make: Airstream
Slide Outs: --
Model: Safari Bambi
Fuel Type: Gas
Year: 2005
Leveling Jacks Included?: No
Length (Feet): 16
Water Capacity (Gallons): 21-30
Mileage: 13200
Air Conditioners: 1
Sleeping Capacity: 4
Awnings: --
Title: Clear
Dry Weight (Pounds): 0
NOTE: even "REPORT THIS ITEM" links back to the faux seller's email address!!
If you email this item to a friend, it lists a different item #!
This faux seller was one of the slicker ones - all attempts thru the auction led to his email address . . . guess the scum out there is getting more sophisticated!
I emailed this item to a "friend", spoof@ebay.com (that's how we noticed that the item #'s were different)
Item number: 180237883753 NOTICE: THIS LISTING IS RESTRICTED TO PREAPPROVED BIDDERS/BUYERS ONLY.
E-mail the seller to be placed into bidders/buyers list. Watch this item in My eBay
NOTE: even "REPORT THIS ITEM" links back to the faux seller's email address!!
If you email this item to a friend, it lists a different item #!
The ebay auction is apparently gone, but the "view larger picture" link will direct you to a spoofed Ebay page at the Mandlesmithfamily.com domain. There, some of the links are set up to email the scammer, while some are back to real ebay stuff. Very well done too.
I hope that viewing the spoofed web page didn't get some spyware or bot transmitted into my computer...what a pain.
I still haven't figured out why these scammers want email addresses (since that is what they seem to acquire using these scam auctions). I suspect that they can sell validated email addresses to spammers and even legitimate advertisers, thereby making a little money each scam auction. I suspect that they may also have most of this automated, requiring very little time and effort on their part.
__________________ Phil and/or Sue (with Gus, Penny and Roger)
(Buffett RIP 9/15/08) 1983 31' Sovereign 1973 31' Sovereign (project)
'01 Dodge Ram 2500 Quad LWB 2x4 6sp Cummins Turbo Diesel
AIR 1753
Hey guys, wanted to say thank you for posting this info here.
I'm one of the dupes these scammers live for. I however had enough sense to step back before I went through with it.
It was an 84 excella that looked very similar to one that had gone through ebay a month or two before.
The listing redirected me to a page where all the links were to an e-mail addy. When I'd try to bid, it said the listing was removed or missing. I didnt know what the hell was going on so I e-mailed the seller..asking about it.
The page tripped warning flags for me, didnt match up with, couldnt bid..as well as the horrable grammar. Granted my spelling isnt top notch.
I asked a whole list of questions and two very important ones..I wanted a VIN number and a phone number, he answered all the other questions except those two and I stopped talking to him.
I wasnt sure, now I know.
I hope it was one of you that kicked this guy off e-bay. The scammer claims he pulled the listing for a local bidder.
Thanks for saveing idiots like me.
Hey guys, wanted to say thank you for posting this info here.
I'm one of the dupes these scammers live for. I however had enough sense to step back before I went through with it.
...
Thanks for saveing idiots like me.
I am glad you found us (these Forums, that is). Welcome, and please use the search capability to look at all manners of info...more than you wanted to know, I'm sure.
I also recommend that you consider subscribing to Airstream Life magazine Airstream Life Magazine. Lots of info, great articles, Ebay watch that analyzes auctions that were on (and what to look for).
Airstream.com used to have a classified section, but it may have disappeared with the new website they have now; I cannot find it.
Is that the same trailer reported in the first post on this page? The picture is almost identical except the door is open. The ad also says to look at the questions below the ad and there are no questions. Very strange.
Oh Another Thing:
My photos show VIN #517600 ad states the vin is #518113
I sent the seller a message asking if they had any actual photos of their trailer, and that the pics in their auction are from a dealer so they should say so in the description.
I then looked at their website (Digital Labrador | Welcome) which is a photography place (oh the irony...). Here is a screengrab of one pic in their home page slideshow. They use the AS on-site for photo shoots apparently.
__________________ Phil and/or Sue (with Gus, Penny and Roger)
(Buffett RIP 9/15/08) 1983 31' Sovereign 1973 31' Sovereign (project)
'01 Dodge Ram 2500 Quad LWB 2x4 6sp Cummins Turbo Diesel
AIR 1753
Sent a message to the ID holder (that his ID has been hijacked and recommending a better password), reported to Ebay, then bid on auction (so I get notified when it shuts down).
I am interested in seeing how long it takes to take it down.
__________________ Phil and/or Sue (with Gus, Penny and Roger)
(Buffett RIP 9/15/08) 1983 31' Sovereign 1973 31' Sovereign (project)
'01 Dodge Ram 2500 Quad LWB 2x4 6sp Cummins Turbo Diesel
AIR 1753
Sent a message to the ID holder (that his ID has been hijacked and recommending a better password), reported to Ebay, then bid on auction (so I get notified when it shuts down).
I am interested in seeing how long it takes to take it down.
I got the standard email from Ebay thanking me for my report, then 35 minutes later, I got my email from Ebay that the auction was cancelled: " ...We removed the listing and cancelled your bid because it appears that the seller's account was used by someone without their permission. ... Due to privacy concerns, we can't provide the details..."
Not bad! I wonder if they acted on my report, or whether the actual ID holder contacted them as I recommended.
__________________ Phil and/or Sue (with Gus, Penny and Roger)
(Buffett RIP 9/15/08) 1983 31' Sovereign 1973 31' Sovereign (project)
'01 Dodge Ram 2500 Quad LWB 2x4 6sp Cummins Turbo Diesel
AIR 1753