Airstream Chat Room Airstream Links Campground & Product Reviews Airstream Classifieds Airstream Articles Blogs Photo Gallery Forum Listings Portal - Home Page

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents




Find out what's going on and meet up with other Airstreamers in your area through our Clubs & Groups Directory.

Quick Links
- Forum Listings
- Register - it's FREE!
- View Member's Map
- Airstream Articles
- "Live" Chat Room
- View Classifieds
- Post a Classified
- Airstream @ eBay
- Upcoming Rallies
   - Add A Rally
- Rally Discussions
- Repair Discussions
- Search Forums
- Member List
- AIR # Directory
- Member Search
- Profile Photos
- Airstream Photo
- Airstream Links
- Fun & Games
- WBCCI Websites
- WBCCI Unit Forums
- Courtesy Parking
- Campgrounds
- Support & FAQs
- Community Policies
- Helpers Needed




Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2006, 11:17 AM   #1
Moderator

 
azflycaster's Avatar
Profile:  1975 25' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Posts: 8,021
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1

The "seller" also is listing this item:
http://cgi.ebay.com/2001-Skeeter-Bas...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
Richard
Charter Member Four Corners Unit
azflycaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 07:50 AM   #2
Addicted to Aluminum

 
A-Merry-Can's Avatar

Profile:  1959 18' "Footer"
1964 24' Tradewind
1954 29' Liner
Woodstock , Georgia
Posts: 1,913

the scammed ones are getting yanked pretty quick, these days, eh?

jp
__________________

• • •
• • • • •
8576 • • • • • • • •
there's always room for one more!


• • www.toolbox-design.com • •
A-Merry-Can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 08:10 PM   #3
Aluminut

 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
Profile:  2004 25' Safari
Frozen Tundra , Illinois
Posts: 10,109

Anyone think this is a scam?

http://cgi.ebay.com/2001-Airstream-S...QQcmdZViewItem
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 08:37 PM   #4
Moderator

 
silverleeper's Avatar
Profile:  1967 22' Safari
1960 18' "Footer"
Edmonds , Washington
Posts: 864
Images: 7

Yes

I think the old saying "If it looks too good to be true its a scam" fits here. If you have some extra money try it. Have fun. LP
__________________
Lee

1973 F-250 4X4 390
1965 Chevy Suburban 454
AIR 6030
WBCCI 4258
TCT

silverleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 08:38 PM   #5
Rivet Master

 
flyfisher's Avatar
Profile:  2004 30' Classic
Field and Stream , PA & MT
Posts: 740

Sure it's a scam.

Those guys are sure spending a lot of time concentrating on trying to steal their money using Airstreams as the basis for their scams.

If you look into the feedback on some of these, it looks like they really have purchased some items on Ebay to build up their feedback ratings. You'd think the authorities could track the shipments of those purchases to find these guys and put them behind bars.

John
__________________
Flyfisher
flyfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 10:49 PM   #6
Rivet Master

 
Melody Ranch's Avatar
Profile:  1966 17' Caravel
1995 21' Sovereign
1947 22' Liner
Valley View , Texas
Posts: 1,232
Images: 42

You think Ebay has scams...look around here.

When a Scammer is thrown off Ebay....guess where they show up?
Melody Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 11:32 PM   #7
Aluminut

 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
Profile:  2004 25' Safari
Frozen Tundra , Illinois
Posts: 10,109

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melody Ranch
When a Scammer is thrown off Ebay....guess where they show up?
Have I missed something....do tell.....
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 11:42 PM   #8
Moderator

 
azflycaster's Avatar
Profile:  1975 25' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Posts: 8,021
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1

I missed it too

Where???
__________________
Richard
Charter Member Four Corners Unit
azflycaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 06:57 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member

 
65glbtrotter's Avatar
Profile:  1965 20' Globetrotter
Yakima , Washington
Posts: 183
Images: 31

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyfisher
Sure it's a scam.

Those guys are sure spending a lot of time concentrating on trying to steal their money using Airstreams as the basis for their scams.

If you look into the feedback on some of these, it looks like they really have purchased some items on Ebay to build up their feedback ratings. You'd think the authorities could track the shipments of those purchases to find these guys and put them behind bars.

John
I think they are probably hijacked accounts where someone fell for the phish e-mial that goes something like this "Your account has had suspicious activity please click the link below and verify your info...."
__________________
Cory Harrington
http://65airstream.tripod.com/
Alumineyezed
AIR 7834 WBCCI 2105/VAC
65glbtrotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 08:32 AM   #10
Aluminut

 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
Profile:  2004 25' Safari
Frozen Tundra , Illinois
Posts: 10,109

They're back.

http://cgi.ebay.com/2005-Airstream-C...QQcmdZViewItem
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 01:06 PM   #11
Moderator

 
azflycaster's Avatar
Profile:  1975 25' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Posts: 8,021
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1

Here we go again!

http://cgi.ebay.com/2005-Airstream-S...QQcmdZViewItem

I love the spelling and grammer, makes me look good.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	00_1_b.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	12.9 KB
ID:	18955  
__________________
Richard
Charter Member Four Corners Unit
azflycaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 01:16 PM   #12
Rivet Master
Profile:  , Minnesota
Posts: 4,922
Images: 59

I liked these parts:

Make: Airstream Leveling
Jacks: Yes
.
.
.
.
Interior
Sleeps: 4 Contact
Us: Email

I don't know what make Airstream Leveling is, but I can guess that the 4 Contact sleeping arrangements are pretty intimate.
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 01:23 PM   #13
Moderator

 
azflycaster's Avatar
Profile:  1975 25' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Posts: 8,021
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1

That's what happens when you cut and paste something and lose the line breaks along the way. Doing it manually with limited knowledge of the English language can be tough.......

Wow that last post was number 666. That was my employee number for about a day where I work. They decided that it was not good, so I got a new one. The funny thing is I have this birthmark that.........
__________________
Richard
Charter Member Four Corners Unit
azflycaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 04:30 PM   #14
Moderator

 
Stefrobrts's Avatar
Profile:  1968 17' Caravel
. , Washington
Posts: 7,049
Images: 39
Blog Entries: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by azflycaster
Wow that last post was number 666. That was my employee number for about a day where I work. They decided that it was not good, so I got a new one.
Dude, what is with that? The phone prefix in our area is 666, and I never heard so much whining and complaining, but now everyone's got used to it. Still, it's not like it opened up the gates of hell or something...

I just wanted to mention that after seeing all these bad ebay auctions, I spotted the same thing on another auction site - a fish auction! Yes, there is a free tropical fish auction site called AquaBid, and they had a big deal where some scammer came on, claimed he was in LA but then mysteriously was located out of the country, and outright stole other people's descriptions and pictures (except he photoshopped the colors to make the fish look even more interesting). Luckily the sharp eyed regulars caught him (including some people who recognized pictures of thier own fish in his listings)! Just goes to show, eBay isn't the only place these guys are scammin!
__________________
Stephanie




Stefrobrts is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anthony Edwards Triple Axle 4 Sale on eBay! Cat Our Community 6 10-21-2009 10:41 PM
ebay - 1983 MH Brochure 1985air345 Airstream Motorhome Forums 1 12-05-2002 09:28 PM
Found new A&E awning Dave-O Awnings 4 10-21-2002 09:15 PM
How to include multiple pictures in a post! PeterH-79MH Forum How-To's & Support 1 02-23-2002 11:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0.1

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 PM.

Other Social Knowledge forum communities:
Cooking Forum - Sailing Forum - Early Retirement - Airstream Trailer - Aquarium Forum - Royal Forum - Book Forum - Volkswagen Touareg Forum - Jeep Wrangler Forum - Whitewater Kayaking & Rafting Forum - Fiberglass RV Forum - RV Forum - Truck Conversion - U2 Music Forum
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.

eXTReMe Tracker

Other recommended RV/Travel Trailer sites:
Airstream Classifieds - Airstream Central - Airstream Photos - Fiberglass RV Forum - iRV2 RV Forum

© copyright 2002-2009 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.