Old 07-30-2015, 10:31 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1979 28' Airstream Excella 28
Brooklyn , New York
Question Buying Airstream from dealer out of state

I've never purchased an RV, let alone one from a dealer out of state. I found the RV I want and have put down a deposit so that they will hold it for me until I fly down and pick it up. I have a few questions about the process.

They asked me to send a copy of my driver's license along with my social security number. Why would they need this information prior to me picking up the RV?

I am not sure exactly what documents I need to make this purchase. I am going to be paying cash so I figure I will just show up with a cashiers check. What are the standard documents I need to make sure I get and what documents do I need to sign?

Again, I am new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Old 07-30-2015, 10:42 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1970 23' Safari
2005 30' Classic
1986 31' Sovereign
Lorain , Ohio
Welcome!

Drivers License is probably OK. I might black out the number prior to giving them a copy. No way they are getting SSN.

They probably just want to make sure you are legit? Crazy idea, call them and ask?

You are a customer and they are gonna make a ton of money off of you. Don't hesitate to question them. Don't forget, they work for you now.

Proud Member of the Wally Byam Airstream Club #24260

www.campnova.com

The “Ohio Airstreamer -- Informal forum for weekend camping” thread.
DanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 10:48 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
ANY check can be forged. Certified or otherwise. They would have to have their bank verify it with your bank to be sure it's legit. SO they plan to run your identity and credit... and SSN is still used widely by credit reporting agencies, hospitals, etc. It is not right but it's still done.

Call the dealer - ask.
Old 07-30-2015, 11:02 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2014 31' Classic