Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-21-2013, 02:52 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

lambertville , New Jersey
1972 Tradewind - Should I buy?

Hey everyone! Newbie here - first post in the forums! I've been reading these forums and have gained so much knowledge from here, I am hoping you all will help will suggestions about this 1972 25' Tradewind I'm considering. The PO has it listed for $5500 and said he would come down to $5k. Here's what I know:

- axles and tires are original (tires look fine enough though)
- no front benches or cushions, PO took them all out, but has the dinette table
- PO installed new carpet, says floor is solid (it's not - we used a screwdriver and it was soft in the front where the front couch/bed would go (thanks for taking that out, PO!)
- exterior under where the soft spot in the floor is, is kind of soft and when I push up with my finger, it gives (unlike the exterior walls higher up)
- tons of mice droppings and insulation inside the oven which I'm assuming the mice brought in there
- PO didn't have a battery so we couldn't turn it on and see if it worked
- propane hose is busted
- twin model - the cushions for the beds are available for one, the other was taken apart but is there (and I actually like the 70's fabric)
- tons of rust underneath
- a/c, heat, fridge, and oven work according to PO
- only has one dent in the rear top

I don't mind doing the work. Going to work on it with my dad who is extremely handy and good with all of this stuff. Because of the mice droppings, I'm assuming I'm going to have to take out the insulation and redo the insulation and walls. Also assuming, because of the age, I'm going to have to take out the rug and the plywood underneath.