Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Global 'streaming > Modifications
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-22-2012, 08:27 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2021 25' Globetrotter
Jamestown , Rhode Island
2012 Airstream Mods on 16' International

OK, we love our little Bambi Serenity but true to form I cannot leave well enough alone.
As we intend to do a little boondocking with the trailer one of the easiest places to begin was with the 12 volt system. Although I am new to the Airstream game, I have some very strong opinions about batteries and their care developed over 20 years of sailboat ownership. http://esmeralde.net
I understand the arguments both for and against AGM batteries but they have simply been the best power source I have ever owned. In the real world of deeper than intended discharges, partial re-charges and general abuse (and I work hard at treating my batteries well, it is just that life happens….) my AGM batteries have provided more amps, more voltage and more charge cycles than anything else I have used including Gell cells and conventional deep cycle batteries. I love them!