Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2015, 09:03 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' FB FC Bunk
Ayer , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 886
Voyager WiSight Camera works 50% of the time.

I had a top of the line Voyager camera installed by a local dealer and it works only marginally. It keeps loosing signal. Contacted the manufacture but no response yet.

Anyone else have this problem?
__________________

__________________
Ted S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 09:23 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
2016 30' Classic
Erie , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,245
Images: 1
Ted when it is working how many bars show up on the signal indicator? I found on my 30" Classic that is was usually running 2-3 bars. Easy way to fix it is buy this cable from Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ilpage_o03_s00). I fashioned a bracket out of a scrap piece of aluminum flat bar that I had. Bent it to an L shape. Drilled a hole for the antenna mount in the bent over end and another towards the bottom of the flat section to mount to one of my solar panel mounts. Sits up about the same height as the AC units. Located just behind the front AC.

Give me a much more reliable signal.

Also, depending on the model you have of the camera, you can do a rebinding of the camera to the screen. There are two models of camera out there. The older one has a button that you need to push on the camera. The newer one is auto select and only need to do it at the screen.

When I had problems with mine Jensen/ASA was pretty helpful and had no problem getting hold of them.

Last thing to check is where you have the screen mounted in the tow vehicle. Folks reported that if you had a TPMS receiver to close it would interfere with the Voyager. So make sure you don't have any other devices close to the screen. I've got mine on top of the dash centered using a RAM mount. TST TPMS is next to the drivers door.
__________________

__________________
Gary
2015 Classic
2015 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax
ProPride
NVPN
ghaynes755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 09:36 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' FB FC Bunk
Ayer , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 886
Thanks Gary for the help. I get 0-3 bars, it's really strange. It will be fine then go right out. I do have a TST TPMS right near it, but we shut it off and there didn't seem to be much of an improvement.

Sounds like you are moving the camera antenna closer to the front of the trailer? I was thinking of extending the reciever antenna closer to the rear of the tow vehicle...
__________________
Ted S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 12:54 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
2016 30' Classic
Erie , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,245
Images: 1
Easy to move the antenna on the camera. It has an SMA connector. I can't see the actual connector on the screen unit but if it is accessible putting the antenna on the roof might also help.
__________________
Gary
2015 Classic
2015 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax
ProPride
NVPN
ghaynes755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 12:59 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
Plan-B's Avatar
 
2016 26' Flying Cloud
2016 25' Flying Cloud
1997 21' Excella
Watervliet , Michigan
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 263
Recently had a Voyager installed on my 25FC. I keep the monitor stuffed down in the center console, not an optimum location for the antenna. I just completed a 3,700 mile trailer trip and had zero issues with the Voyager loosing connectivity. I have maximum bar signal strength showing on the monitor.
__________________
Greg

2016 RAM 2500 6.7L Cummins, 4WD, Crew, Rear Air
Plan-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 04:18 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' FB FC Bunk
Ayer , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 886
I wonder if the 6 bikes on my truck roof are a issue?
__________________
Ted S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 08:05 AM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
Plan-B's Avatar
 
2016 26' Flying Cloud
2016 25' Flying Cloud
1997 21' Excella
Watervliet , Michigan
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted S. View Post
I wonder if the 6 bikes on my truck roof are a issue?
I am a not so up to speed HAM operator but I can say 12 spoked wheels is a pretty good/bad antena array. The length of a spoke is about the optimum length for a WIFI antenna. It is possible all those spokes are absorbing what little WIFI signal is coming from the camera. I am surprised the voyager actually works through 25' of double hauled aluminum and then a steal cabed truck. It's worth a try with out the bikes.
__________________
Plan-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 08:28 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' FB FC Bunk
Ayer , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 886
The strange thing is even with bikes it goes from perfect to fail with no changes in anything else...
__________________
Ted S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 08:47 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
2016 30' Classic
Erie , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,245
Images: 1
Voyager claims to be using a digital signal. While they do display signal strength bars the nature of digital in general is that typically they are on or off. And can change quickly. On mine if I have just the antenna icon showing the video start skipping frames, you don't get smooth video. But when it drops it just goes to no signal. Also these are in the 2.5Mhz frequency range. Along with WiFi boxes and hundreds of other devices to interference can be a huge issue. Watch the signal bar difference driving through town and out on the open road, usually more bars away from town.

Running the antenna extension cable has helped mine. No dropped signal on this weeks trip. Cable was about $15 from Amazon. Cheap quick fix.
__________________
Gary
2015 Classic
2015 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax
ProPride
NVPN
ghaynes755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 09:48 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' FB FC Bunk
Ayer , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 886
So I have not worked on my Voyager issue but had an interesting thing happen. I installed a repeater for my TPMS which was loosing contact with the tire sensors. Turns out the Voyager now seems to be getting better reception too...

Coincidence?
__________________
Ted S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 09:58 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted S. View Post
So I have not worked on my Voyager issue but had an interesting thing happen. I installed a repeater for my TPMS which was loosing contact with the tire sensors. Turns out the Voyager now seems to be getting better reception too...

Coincidence?

Where are the voyager receiver/screen and TPMS receiver/screen located in your TV (in relation to one another)? Did that change when you installed the repeater?

Can't imagine it's coincidence but I know I had trouble without a repeater and separating the two receivers in the cab of the TV solved that.

If you haven't changed the position of those two items, I suppose it's possible the conflict between the 2 was solved by the TPMS getting the signal it needed and not interfering with the voyager. But I have no idea if that is what happened and if so, how.

What a helpful response on my part 😔😄
__________________
SteveSueMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 10:02 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' FB FC Bunk
Ayer , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 886
Honestly, I moved the TPMS 1-2 inches further away from the camera, it's just where the suction cup ended up...

There really does seem to be a big difference. Strange ...
__________________
Ted S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 10:06 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,412
Voyager WiSight Camera works 50% of the time.

That might be enough. I think I moved mine about a foot and that was all it took.
__________________
SteveSueMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 10:09 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' FB FC Bunk
Ayer , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 886
So your TPMS caused reception issues with the Voyager?
__________________

__________________
Ted S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Power to Voyager Rear-view camera garybair Audio, Video & TV 45 01-21-2016 09:50 AM
Voyager wireless camera DeltaRon Electronics & Connectivity 6 06-16-2015 07:32 PM
Backup Camera as Rear View Camera Rapa Nui Tow Vehicles 10 07-10-2013 05:37 PM
Replaced Voyager--what to do with it? Kistler Our Community 7 01-19-2004 06:28 PM
Tekonsha Prodigy vs Voyager Silvertwinkie Brakes & Brake Controllers 11 04-14-2003 07:38 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.