Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electronics & Connectivity
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-04-2015, 07:18 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 31' Excella 500
townsend , Georgia
Solar Power and Transformers Versus Batteries

Hello,

I am not an electrician and I know very little about electricity, but I had an electrician tell me that I should avoid the conventional off the grid thinking as it pertains to batteries.

He explained that solar can be linked (?) to a transformer that will house (?) the energy and work more effectively then how the battery setup with inverters normally work.

Does anyone have any experience working with transformers and solar combined? Before I began putting my energy into researching transformers etc. I would like to know if anyone has any knowledge regarding this type of setup?
deaun99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 07:45 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 27' FB International
El Dorado Hills , California
The main idea with physical home solar is to use the sun to offset some of your electricity consumption. Most electricity suppliers bill bases upon tiers. The initial tiers of power are cheap and additional tiers of power become progressively more expensive. Home solar is intended to keep you from needing to purchase the more expensive tiers.

An off the grid solution for a house is pretty extreme and very expensive. This is almost never done.

An RV solar setup however is off the grid. Living off the electrical power of two 12 volt batteries is an exercise in minimalism.
kscherzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 08:40 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by deaun99 View Post
Hello,