Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electronics & Connectivity
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-20-2015, 10:53 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2016 26' Flying Cloud
Bastrop , Texas
Security and Your Airstream at Home, and Away.

Newbie here about to purchase our first AS - 26U Twin. Very excited. What do you do about security - in storage facility, in caravan parks, and boondocking when with the vehicle, and away? Are there security systems for AS - water, fire and personal? Video camera's if someone around during the night and you're in a remote location. Can you use a cell phone in an AS or does the aluminum inhibit the signal. Do you use satellite phones?? I've seen the firearm issues discussed in previous forum threads but not general security. Are we just being paranoid?
Tarcoola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 10:57 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Lock your doors and use common sense.

Never needed anything else since 2002. . My husband always carried a handgun, I do not.

There are a number of threads on this topic, if you want to do a search. To carry or not often becomes a pretty passionate topic.

Maggie
Old 12-20-2015, 11:02 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2006 23' Safari SE
Nevada City , California
Relax and go camping.... Lock things up, your cell phone will work in the trailer, the odds are ever in your favor that nothing will happen. Be sure your storage is secure and in a good area lock the tongue up.

Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
WaLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 11:41 AM   #4
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarcoola View Post