Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2011, 08:56 PM   #29
Rivet Master
 
Bambi_Bandit's Avatar

 
2008 27' International FB
1964 19' Globetrotter
1955 26' Cruiser Overlander
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 604
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KerriO
I have a question about Millenicom: I keep reading that they use both Verizon and Sprint networks, but I can't find anything on their site that verifies this. In fact, the only reference to carriers I can find is the mention of using a Sprint-compatible device if you want to use your own device. Is there any verification that they actually have Verizon coverage? Of course, I could call, but…
They do, and when you call to set up service, you can pick which carrier you want. I switched from sprint to verizon during my time with them. No problem.
__________________

__________________
Kevin & Prim Li
Bandit the Siberian Husky (RIP) & "G" the Min-Pin (RIP)
Cosmo the Custom 2008 27FB Intl CCD
Maxwell the 1964 Globe Trotter
Name TBD the 1955 Overlander
WBCCI # 6155
AIR # 6155

2nd love - 2006 28' Safari LS
1st love - 2004 19' CCD Bambi
Bambi_Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:52 AM   #30
one of those
 
Gringo's Avatar
 
2011 27 FB International
'03 F250 PSD , Airstream summers, Catalac winters
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,091
So, if I understand this, the Millenicom setup is for data only, correct? We will also need to buy a phone while we are in the USA, I suppose.

Our cell phones here are Cable and Wireless (UK company) through local company known as Lime. They can't even supply decent coverage within this little country we live in. And their roaming charges are killer when we are in the USA.

When I look up the zip code for where we plan to spend most of our time in the AS ( 80536) AT&T doesn't show coverage. In fact, nobody but Sprint is promising cell coverage for that area.

So I guess the solution for us is both the Millenicom unlimited data plan, plus a Verizon cell phone as a separate entity entirely?
__________________

__________________
A Blog from the Devil's Triangle
http://2gringos.blogspot.com/
Gringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:49 PM   #31
Rivet Master
 
Bambi_Bandit's Avatar

 
2008 27' International FB
1964 19' Globetrotter
1955 26' Cruiser Overlander
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 604
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gringo
So, if I understand this, the Millenicom setup is for data only, correct? We will also need to buy a phone while we are in the USA, I suppose.

Our cell phones here are Cable and Wireless (UK company) through local company known as Lime. They can't even supply decent coverage within this little country we live in. And their roaming charges are killer when we are in the USA.

When I look up the zip code for where we plan to spend most of our time in the AS ( 80536) AT&T doesn't show coverage. In fact, nobody but Sprint is promising cell coverage for that area.

So I guess the solution for us is both the Millenicom unlimited data plan, plus a Verizon cell phone as a separate entity entirely?
Yes, millenicom is for data cards only.

One option is to just get a verizon smartphone with data, and either pay for the official tethering option or "root" the android phone for wireless tethering.

Another option is to get a verizon smartphone with data and install PdaNet for a one time charge from the android marketplace. PdaNet will allow you to tether using USB cable from you pc/Mac using your android based phone. No "official" verizon tethering plan needed...
__________________
Kevin & Prim Li
Bandit the Siberian Husky (RIP) & "G" the Min-Pin (RIP)
Cosmo the Custom 2008 27FB Intl CCD
Maxwell the 1964 Globe Trotter
Name TBD the 1955 Overlander
WBCCI # 6155
AIR # 6155

2nd love - 2006 28' Safari LS
1st love - 2004 19' CCD Bambi
Bambi_Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 06:56 AM   #32
one of those
 
Gringo's Avatar
 
2011 27 FB International
'03 F250 PSD , Airstream summers, Catalac winters
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,091
Yes, I mean Verizon is the only one showing coverage for Larimer Co. CO. Don't know why I wrote Sprint.

I still need to look up the terminology. We have fallen behind living here for six years. I don't have a clue what 'tethering' or 'root', or 'smartphone' or 'android based' even means at this point. We buy phones ( pre-paid) and make voice calls and send text messages. That's the full extent of our phone use. We use DSL for internet.
__________________
A Blog from the Devil's Triangle
http://2gringos.blogspot.com/
Gringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:16 AM   #33
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Kevin's suggestion for using a smartphone as a "hotspot" is a good budget solution, but the shortcoming on CDMA (Verizon) is that you can't have simultaneous voice and data unless you're in one of their LTE markets, and I'm guessing Larimer isn't yet offering LTE data.

That means when you're on the computer, your spouse can't make a phone call, and your spouse's mom will get voicemail when she calls you. This over time can lead to friction. If you're a light voice user and heavy data user, the scenario you described might work well. Get a prepaid phone (make sure it's on Verizon's network for good coverage where you're spending most of your time) and get a dedicated data card on a contract.

"Unlimited" is one of those words that wireless companies use without being too slavish to the dictionary definition. AT&T and VZW both have hard caps on their plans, and they'll get cranky if you regularly exceed it. T-Mobile now slows your data service when you exceed their soft cap. I think Sprint still is pretty lax about it, because they don't want to annoy those of us who haven't left their network yet.
__________________
ó David

Zero Gravitas ó 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto ó 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. ó Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 01:59 AM   #34
Rivet Master
 
JFScheck's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Rockville , Maryland
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,474
Images: 33
I need a wifi modem with an RJ-45 cable to plug into my airport express - anyone knows a vendor that makes such an animal?
__________________
John "JFScheck" Scheck
2015 Roadtrek CS Adventurous XL
2015 Mercedes Sprinter 3500 XL Chassis with Mercedes BlueTec V6 Diesel
**I Love U.S.A.**
JFScheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 06:00 AM   #35
one of those
 
Gringo's Avatar
 
2011 27 FB International
'03 F250 PSD , Airstream summers, Catalac winters
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKB_SATX View Post
Kevin's suggestion for using a smartphone as a "hotspot" is a good budget solution, but the shortcoming on CDMA (Verizon) is that you can't have simultaneous voice and data unless you're in one of their LTE markets, and I'm guessing Larimer isn't yet offering LTE data.

That means when you're on the computer, your spouse can't make a phone call, and your spouse's mom will get voicemail when she calls you. This over time can lead to friction. If you're a light voice user and heavy data user, the scenario you described might work well. Get a prepaid phone (make sure it's on Verizon's network for good coverage where you're spending most of your time) and get a dedicated data card on a contract.

"Unlimited" is one of those words that wireless companies use without being too slavish to the dictionary definition. AT&T and VZW both have hard caps on their plans, and they'll get cranky if you regularly exceed it. T-Mobile now slows your data service when you exceed their soft cap. I think Sprint still is pretty lax about it, because they don't want to annoy those of us who haven't left their network yet.

Thanks for the help. We're not actually looking for a budget solution so much as a reliable solution. And with five sons and families scattered from Cape Cod to Texas to Colorado, we do need to stay available for voice contact without compromising my wife's need for good, all day long, computer connection.
__________________
A Blog from the Devil's Triangle
http://2gringos.blogspot.com/
Gringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 05:06 AM   #36
Rivet Master
 
2005 19' Safari
GLENDALE , AZ
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,440
Just found this old thread. Looking at Millenicom as mobile broadband provider. Is it correct to assume that with a Verizon cellular modem, coverage will be the same as Verizon's coverage map (for USA)?

Have you found 3G speeds to be slow compared to DSL? (Does anyone have upload and download speeds for Millenicom 3G?)

Also, are VOIP or other devices (e.g., Magic Cube) OK to use on Millenicom for phone service?
__________________
Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 07:52 AM   #37
Rivet Master
 
Lily&Me's Avatar

 
2006 22' Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix View Post
Just found this old thread. Looking at Millenicom as mobile broadband provider. Is it correct to assume that with a Verizon cellular modem, coverage will be the same as Verizon's coverage map (for USA)?

Have you found 3G speeds to be slow compared to DSL? (Does anyone have upload and download speeds for Millenicom 3G?)

Also, are VOIP or other devices (e.g., Magic Cube) OK to use on Millenicom for phone service?
Verizon coverage for broadband and cell phone are different. There are times when you can get phone but not broadband.

Overall, though, we have been very, ver happy all over the country with our Verizon broadband.


Maggie
__________________
🏡 🚐 Cherish and appreciate those you love. This moment could be your last.🌹🐚❤️
Lily&Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 11:44 AM   #38
2 Rivet Member
 
1971 25' Tradewind
Louisville , Kentucky
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 22
Images: 9
Blog Entries: 9
i had/have greatt luck w/ cricket when in town. for 45 mo i mostly sit still or wi 100 miles
__________________
70s guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:46 PM   #39
Rivet Master

 
Southwestern , Ohio
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,669
Hi,

I think I can answer your questions fairly well. I don't claim to be an expert but I have been using Verizon's "3G" "broadband" [EVDO Rev A] service for several years.

(I put "3G", "broadband", and "4G" in quotes because, as used in advertising, they are practically meaningless.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix View Post
Just found this old thread. Looking at Millenicom as mobile broadband provider. Is it correct to assume that with a Verizon cellular modem, coverage will be the same as Verizon's coverage map (for USA)?
With my old Verizon USB 720 wireless modem, you can get data coverage anywhere Verizon has voice coverage. What Verizon calls the "National Access" mode uses the same CDMA protocol as voice. (CDMA = Code Division Multiple Access)

What Verizon calls their "3G" broadband wireless service is EVDO, a software upgrade to existing CDMA cell sites. (EVDO = EVolution, Data Optimized, or some say EVolution, Data Only) My trusty USB 720 supports EVDO Rev A broadband, which at this point appears to be universally available. I have had EVDO Rev A coverage in the mountains of Arizona in sight of the Mexican border, the edge of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness, and everywhere in between.

The only reason I mention the old National Access is that newer Verizon devices may not support it. I have been at campgrounds where my old USB 720 modem was giving me EVDO Rev A access while my neighbors' Verizon smart phones were saying "No Data Service".

So with a Verizon modem I expect that you will have data coverage anywhere you have phone coverage, which is almost everywhere.

Quote:
Have you found 3G speeds to be slow compared to DSL? (Does anyone have upload and download speeds for Millenicom 3G?)
EVDO speed depends heavily on the signal strength at your location and how busy the CDMA cell phone network is. When you have a strong signal and the network is not busy, EVDO is probably a little faster than economy grade DSL.

EVDO uses one of several different signalling schemes depending on signal strength. For maximum speed you have to have a strong signal (4 bars on my USB 720).

When the network is busy, like around rush hour, data rates can be v-e-r-y s-l-o-w. Or the network may just decide to disconnect you, which is annoying.

Quote:
Also, are VOIP or other devices (e.g., Magic Cube) OK to use on Millenicom for phone service?
I doubt Verizon "3G" is fast enough to support VOIP under anything less than ideal conditions.

I wouldn't want to give you the impression that I am unhappy with my Verizon 3G data service. I have the old unlimited data plan at $60 a month (no longer available) and I seldom use more than one Gigabyte per month. Verizon keeps trying to give me a "4G" modem in return for switching to a less expensive "4G" data plan good for 3 Gigabytes per month, but I keep turning them down because they have pretty well gotten the bugs out of the system I use and it works.

The reality is that Verizon will not have "4G" coverage practically anywhere that I travel for years, and I'm afraid that the "backward compatible to 3G" feature of the "4G" devices will not work as well on "3G" as the older devices built for it.

Your mileage may vary.
.
__________________
Nuvite-F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:18 AM   #40
4 Rivet Member
 
2005 28' Safari
saline , Michigan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 408
Nuvite-F
You are wise not to take the bait on Verizon's offer. I inadvertinally did so when my modem failed. The next month I was charged for going over my 5 gig allowance. The 4G hype is just that. We'll have to wait for 10G to get in remote camping areas. 4G is only going to be available in highly populated areas because of the high cost and number of towers needed for the service.
We have both Hughes Network which is satelite and 3G. If i could figure out an easy way to take my satelitte system with me , i would. By and large, its better than 3G any day of the week.
__________________
Kosm1o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 04:42 PM   #41
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 843
I'm actually using a Millenicom 3G "stick" in a Cradlepoint router right now. Millenicom offers a couple of plans that might be of interest. We chose the 20 GB/month for $60/month, which uses the Verizon network. Since we're still working, most of our use will be at home, and we have excellent Verizon coverage here. They offer an unlimited plan for somewhat more, but it uses the Sprint network. They also offer some special deals from time to time, so it might pay to check them out. Their website is millenicom.com should you be intersted.
__________________
David Lininger, kb0zke
TAC SD-6
AIR 54240
Heartland mpg 181 (sold)
1993 Foretravel U300 (for sale)
kb0zke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 05:03 PM   #42
Rivet Master
 
2005 19' Safari
GLENDALE , AZ
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,440
I am getting ready to purchase the new PepWave Surf On The Go (OTG) that has a USB 2.0 connector for the USB modem. Then, I am debating whether to use either a 3G Verizon/Novatel USB 727 cell modem that we already have (but have never used), or buy a 3G/4G Sierra Wireless 250U modem. Whichever way we go, I plan to use either Millenicom's "BYOD (Unlimited)" or "3g/4g Unlimited" Plan. One of these USB models will replace our DSL line at home and become our primary broadband connection, both at home and on the road.

Have those of you that use Millenicom tested the upload and download speeds? What is the typical data rates for 3G? For 4G?

Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test

Our current DSL speeds are 5.6 Mb down, 700k up, with a 60 msec ping. I am curious what speeds we can expect with Millenicom. Are we going to find the 3G speeds too slow, compared to what we are used to?

Also, has anyone used the PepWave Surf OTG?

Regarding Millenicom, what problems have you encountered with service, billing, cancellation, etc.?

Thanks for your input, in advance.

==========

For your reference:

http://3gstore.com/product/3498_surf...4g-router.html

http://www.millenicom.com/page/plans
__________________

__________________
Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.