Old 08-29-2014, 02:13 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2005 28' Safari
formerly of Tustin, Huntington Beach, Dana Point, and Laguna Beach , California
Securing your trailer...

I'm a beginner and may be asking a question with an obvious answer but here goes: how does one secure his or her trailer when one leaves for most of the day? Is there a way to lock the wheels? Additionally, is there a better method in securing your Honda generators (probably two 2000s) to a truck or trailer than the use of a chain or cable?

Thanks in advance,

Jeff

Old 08-29-2014, 02:55 PM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
I don't recommend applying AC electrical power to the shell.

I do turn off the water supply, even for our home when gone for extended time like a weekend.

cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 03:02 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1966 22' Safari
Weatherford , Texas
There are a variety of hitch locks, most of which have been discussed at length on the forums. Lots of opinions as to which is best and why. A search should lead you to the appropriate threads.

The most prevalent opinion, however, seems to be that none of them will stop a really determined thief.
Old 08-29-2014, 03:08 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois
Parking in a nice campground with security and lots of people is the best way. Make sure your neighbors know what kind of Tow vehicle you own. If you are parking it and will be away for weeks, I would padlock my aluminum tanks.
Old 08-29-2014, 03:12 PM   #5
Full Time Adventurer

2007 27' International CCD FB
Nomadic , USA
You can always ebay yourself a wheel boot: Wheel boot, wheel immobilizer, trailer locking devices, denver boot No one is driving your Airstream down the road with that thing on it.
Old 08-29-2014, 03:15 PM   #6
Rivet Master

2005 30' Classic
Burlington , Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by westcoastas View Post