Old 04-15-2011, 08:35 PM   #1
1979 31' Sovereign
Nashville , Tennessee
Looking for rental land in Carbondale, IL

There's a good chance I might try to live in my 1978 Sovereign as a graduate student in Carbondale, IL for the next two years (Fall 2011). My husband will keep the home fires lit in Nashville, though I imagine he'll visit me for extended periods of time. Any suggestions on where I might find rental land and/or a decent trailer park (oxymoron?) in Carbondale?

cindymay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 10:22 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member
1979 31' Sovereign
Milford , Ohio

I graduated from SIU in the late 80's. At that time there were a number of trailer parks in the area though all had manufactured homes in them.

Not sure how much you've checked out that area but I also remember that once you got a mile or two outside of town it was common to see a house on a large lot where someone had set up an old junky trailer or two that they rented to students. Might be able to find such a place that has a vacant spot where you could hook up.

The only actual RV parks I know of with full hookups are in Herrin and Marion, which would be a bit of a drive every day. Giant City State Park is fantastic but I think electric only and probably only allows two week stay maximum.

You might have to just make some calls or knock on some doors and ask around.

blickcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 06:02 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Greetings CindyMay!

Welcome to the Forums!