Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-13-2010, 11:56 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Burlington , Vermont
Is it for me?

I am a 22yo recent college grad and I have always loved airstreams and wanted to live in one full-time, thinking a vintage model that needs interior and light exterior restoration. I have some money saved up from having worked for ever.

I transition between seasonal summer work & seasonal winter work every year and I am thinking of getting an AS to live in full time as an alternative to paying rent at my seasonal job locations. This way I won't have to continously move in and out. I would have to also sell my Honda element and get a tow vehicle. I would love to do a full interior re-haul. FYI I have no real financial obligations . . .

Is this a bad idea? Is this just going to be a bottomless money pit? Not feasible for a poor recent grad due to unforeseen costs?

I'd appreciate any insight/thoughts/opinions
MORA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 12:12 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 27' Overlander
1973 27' Overlander
1963 19' Globetrotter
Naples , Florida
We have quiet a few seasonals who go from here to New England [waiters & waitress],I`ve know a few who pulled trailers,problem here is the lot rent isn`t cheap in season,1 couple took out annual rentals here and Cape Cod,they stay 6 months each place.
My advice would be buy the nicest one you can afford and go for it. Dave
easyride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 12:31 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

1954 22' Safari
Deerfield , Illinois
Send a message via AIM to bredlo
I think it's a really neat idea - you'd feel a bit like a human turtle, carrying everything in your little pod from one home to the next.