Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2016, 07:34 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' International
Sheridan , Colorado
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
High Speed Modem Possibility?

Hi All!
I full time in a 2014 30' International. I have the opportunity to hook up high speed internet through Century Link. Does anyone know how or if this is possible? I can't seem to find information about an outside port or an inside port to jump from.
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
FFEJANDIRAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 08:07 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member
 
truxpin's Avatar
 
2001 34' Limited
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 247
Without knowing anything about Century Links internet I gotta ask... is something that comes through a phone line or a coaxial cable? Or does it use one of those mini sat. dishes?
__________________

__________________
2013 Ram Power Wagon 2500 4X4 5.7 Hemi
2001 Airstream '34 Limited
Hensley Arrow

Fulltime in 2013 and LOVING it !!
truxpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 08:43 AM   #3
Airstreamer In Training
 
FCStreamer's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,261
Blog Entries: 1
There is no port for an outside internet service. If they use coax cable you can probably reuse the satellite in cable. But likely they have a proprietary cable going into a box, and from that box either a coax or RJ45 cable going to a modem or router. That box is likely going to have to live outside of the trailer, and the modem/router inside. The cable connecting the two, if not coax, is going to have to be run through an existing hole. I doubt you want to be drilling new holes. A vent is a good candidate.
__________________
2014 Airstream Flying Cloud 30 Recliner - WBCCI #4850 - AIR #110821
2013 Cadillac Escalade Tow Vehicle, Equal-i-zer Hitch
Visit Our Flying Cloud blog for my latest adventure!
FCStreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 08:44 AM   #4
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' International
Sheridan , Colorado
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
You know, I just assumed it would be a cat cable and jump inside from a female to female RJ45 to a modem inside. can you hook up a modem from a satellite coax connection?
__________________
FFEJANDIRAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 08:46 AM   #5
Airstreamer In Training
 
FCStreamer's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,261
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by FFEJANDIRAB View Post
You know, I just assumed it would be a cat cable and jump inside from a female to female RJ45 to a modem inside. can you hook up a modem from a satellite coax connection?
You can, it depends on the modem and the service. Verizon FIOS for example uses a RJ45 cable and connects to a router, not a modem. So it depends on what they will provide. But in any case, there is not pre-built connection for these things in our AS. You may be able to repurpose the satellite in connection if they use a coax cable, but I am not sure.
__________________
2014 Airstream Flying Cloud 30 Recliner - WBCCI #4850 - AIR #110821
2013 Cadillac Escalade Tow Vehicle, Equal-i-zer Hitch
Visit Our Flying Cloud blog for my latest adventure!
FCStreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 11:15 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
kdickinson's Avatar
 
1969 23' Safari
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 521
If you are stationary then perhaps it is a cable based service. That would provide you with the fastest connection. If you are not stationary then it would pretty much have to be a satellite connection - also not bad for downloads but slow for uploads if that is important. There are so many converters out there for various connections, I - which is me and how I would approach it, but only me - I would just order the service and figure out how to get the connection working in my trailer
__________________
kdickinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 11:50 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Al and Missy's Avatar

 
2002 30' Classic S/O
Melbourne Beach , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by FFEJANDIRAB View Post
Hi All!
I full time in a 2014 30' International. I have the opportunity to hook up high speed internet through Century Link. Does anyone know how or if this is possible? I can't seem to find information about an outside port or an inside port to jump from.
Thanks!
I don't know what Airstream is doing these days and the 2014 manual is no help, but....
Do you have phone jacks in your trailer? New home construction has shifted from running the old 4-wire phone cable to CAT-5 or 6 Ethernet cable. If you have a phone jack, pull it out and see what kind of wire runs to it. IF it is CAT-5 or 6, you could use the phone line as the entrance cable to the trailer and locate any inside box where there is a phone jack.

If that doesn't work, maybe you can find a place where you can mount an external marine-type connector on the outside and an internal connector plate on the inside and direct wire between them. One such location is the refrigerator cavity. In my 2002 30' Classic I could mount the outside connector above the outside refrigerator access door and put the inside connector on the wall at the side of the refrigerator above the microwave cabinet.

Al
__________________

"You cannot reason someone out of a position they have not been reasoned into"

Al, K5TAN and Missy, N4RGO
2002 Classic 30 Slideout
S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins
2001 Safari 25 RB Twin (Gone, but not forgotten)
WBCCI 1322, TAC FL-39, AIR 82265

Al and Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 09:37 PM   #8
SipStreamer
 
2010 20' Flying Cloud
Lakeside , Montana
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 102
We have Centurylink. It's coax/fiber optic. Haven't heard of any mobile way to connect.
__________________
StreamDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 12:02 AM   #9
Classy Roscoe
 
Jekerrville's Avatar

 
2017 30' Classic
1969 31' Sovereign
Kerrville , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 143
Get out the shovel, and it grows roses too!

Ok, high speed internet is a term that covers everything from grandma first gear to T3 light guide communications and beyond. But for most of us, we rock along at about a million and a half "bits" per second input from the Internet and about 350,000 bits going out. (Takes eight bits to make a byte and it took 729 bits to write this between the parenthesis), not including control characters and CRC checks.

Makes no difference if it's letters, colors, clicks, pixels or noises, it's all done in bytes broken down into bits. Just the way God or Al Gore , your choice, made the Internet.

So, if you want "high speed" internet in you AS you need to decide if you want it "fixed base" or "portable".

If fixed base it will take a wire of some sort. Either a coax cable, which most likely is already run from the street side of your AS to somewhere around the radio cabnet. Ours is in the galley under the table.

If the fixed base method is by phone wire connection (ADSL) again there will be a phone wire from outside to inside.

Regardless, these wires WILL connect to a modem. Modems ( MODulators DEModulators) come in lots of flavored. Some have a critter called a router within the modem box, others don't. Some modems have wireless radios built in to them. The end result is that you have a wire that connects from the Internet to you computer.

Unless you want to dive off into the dark side of local area or wide area network topology and TCP/IP communication layers, let's leave it at that.

So, if you want a fixed base system, plan on a wire running into your AS depending on what company you want to deal with. Some use coax (cable folks) some use phone wire. (Phone company)

Just remember that you need to disconnect the wire anytime you change locations and between camp sites you have no service.

If you go mobile based systems you must use the cell phone service or satellite based service. Each have their good and bad sides.

Satellite based stuff is expensive and the roof mounted or ground mounted "hatbox" systems must be aimed at the satellite "bird" in thd southwest sky with NO obstructions.

Cell delivered service just needs a strong signal (2 bars signal or better) for reliable service. (No wires, no modems or routers.)

We have received very reliable service from AT&T "The Phone Company" with a NetGear Cell/Modem/Router wireless router. This all in one router is less than the size of a pack of smokes. The device is considered a phone on our four line 10Gb account that has rollover service for less than $205.00 per month. All 4 folks may use the wireless device at the same time.

We get voice, data, email, streaming video and telemetry from our businesses about 98.02% of the time from 90% of North America. Cable or satellite can not beat it.

So, it is you choice. Like the guy behind the parts counter at the auto shop said, "How fast you want to go, how much money you got?"

Hope this helps.

Happy Trails.
__________________
Jekerrville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 12:20 PM   #10
Cloudland2
 
davidrrand's Avatar
 
2016 25' Flying Cloud
Trenton , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jekerrville View Post
Ok, high speed internet is a term that covers everything from grandma first gear to T3 light guide communications and beyond. But for most of us, we rock along at about a million and a half "bits" per second input from the Internet and about 350,000 bits going out. (Takes eight bits to make a byte and it took 729 bits to write this between the parenthesis), not including control characters and CRC checks.

Makes no difference if it's letters, colors, clicks, pixels or noises, it's all done in bytes broken down into bits. Just the way God or Al Gore , your choice, made the Internet.

So, if you want "high speed" internet in you AS you need to decide if you want it "fixed base" or "portable".

If fixed base it will take a wire of some sort. Either a coax cable, which most likely is already run from the street side of your AS to somewhere around the radio cabnet. Ours is in the galley under the table.

If the fixed base method is by phone wire connection (ADSL) again there will be a phone wire from outside to inside.

Regardless, these wires WILL connect to a modem. Modems ( MODulators DEModulators) come in lots of flavored. Some have a critter called a router within the modem box, others don't. Some modems have wireless radios built in to them. The end result is that you have a wire that connects from the Internet to you computer.

Unless you want to dive off into the dark side of local area or wide area network topology and TCP/IP communication layers, let's leave it at that.

So, if you want a fixed base system, plan on a wire running into your AS depending on what company you want to deal with. Some use coax (cable folks) some use phone wire. (Phone company)

Just remember that you need to disconnect the wire anytime you change locations and between camp sites you have no service.

If you go mobile based systems you must use the cell phone service or satellite based service. Each have their good and bad sides.

Satellite based stuff is expensive and the roof mounted or ground mounted "hatbox" systems must be aimed at the satellite "bird" in thd southwest sky with NO obstructions.

Cell delivered service just needs a strong signal (2 bars signal or better) for reliable service. (No wires, no modems or routers.)

We have received very reliable service from AT&T "The Phone Company" with a NetGear Cell/Modem/Router wireless router. This all in one router is less than the size of a pack of smokes. The device is considered a phone on our four line 10Gb account that has rollover service for less than $205.00 per month. All 4 folks may use the wireless device at the same time.

We get voice, data, email, streaming video and telemetry from our businesses about 98.02% of the time from 90% of North America. Cable or satellite can not beat it.

So, it is you choice. Like the guy behind the parts counter at the auto shop said, "How fast you want to go, how much money you got?"

Hope this helps.

Happy Trails.

Very helpful Jekerrville! My wife and I have been able to get service through AT&T for her Mac and my PC through her IPhone inside the trailer with a decent signal. What does the "NetGear Cell/Modem/Router wireless router" add to the equation?

Thanks in advance!

Dave
__________________
davidrrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 02:44 PM   #11
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' International
Sheridan , Colorado
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
Hey folks,

Thanks for all the insight. The century link guy comes today so I'll update you with the verdict.

I will receive a modem in the mail and will run the inside cables myself from whatever I/O they supply. The outside of the airstream just has coax option, no RJ-45 presently.

I can use my hot spot from my phone when I'm not in my park but for now need more data as I'm hoping to start up an online business and travel WAY more.
__________________
FFEJANDIRAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 04:15 PM   #12
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' International
Sheridan , Colorado
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
So it looks like I need to run a cat cable from the box behind out house into the airstream. The manual doesn't give any insight as to an external RJ 45 jack. I guess I'll have to poke a hole in the rig somewhere unless anyone knows if I'm missing something?
__________________
FFEJANDIRAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 04:26 PM   #13
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' International
Sheridan , Colorado
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
by house I mean Airstream. That is my house.
__________________
FFEJANDIRAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 04:36 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,648
Centurylink is most likely DSL which comes through the phone line. They will give you a modem which will most likely be connected to a PC or router with Ethernet cable. The modem may or may not have a WiFi transmitter. Either way, you can buy your own router that will give you WiFi in the trailer or let you hard wire other devices with Ethernet cable like printers etc. Some carriers use cable instead of phone lines which is better and faster but works the same way. The main thing is that you need to run a phone line or cable inside the trailer. Even my old trailer has an F-connector for cable. They may or may not use this to connect a cable modem. I expect your trailer already has an external phone jack they can connect to. You may not need to do anything.

Perry
__________________

__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting a Cable Modem Crusty Audio, Video & TV 8 04-19-2017 04:23 PM
USB Modem using Verizon or AT&T networks zlee Computers, Internet & Satellite 10 04-05-2012 12:04 AM
Finally!!! use your iPhone as a modem for a computer over WiFi Albatrill Our Community 7 05-09-2010 09:08 PM
Have problems with your mobile internet (computer, laptop, modem, satellite)? securtron Commercial Listings 3 03-30-2004 12:45 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.