Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-21-2017, 03:33 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Eastern NC , North Carolina
Extended Warranty IF living full time in AS?

Hi,
Newbie...1st post. in considering my options at purchase of the extended warrant offered.....99% of folks on the forum seem to think its a waste of money.But I cant find the answer if you plan to live in it everyday parked for maybe a year or three. This is my first AS (2018 28ft Serenity) and I know the quality overall is there, but I have no knowledge how well the appliances, AC/Heat, stoves, fridges etc will hold up with constant use vs. the occasional camper.
Can anyone offer their opinion/advice etc?
Thanks in advance, Bluebird
bluebirdsing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 03:52 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Chelsea , Michigan
I am not a fan of these types of add on insurance policies and I prefer to "self insure."

Your most likely exposure that is not covered by your regular collision and comprehensive insurance (e.g., fire, theft, crash, hail damage and the like) will be the post-warranty failure of one of the major appliances such as the Fridge, water heater, furnace, range, air conditioning unit and the like. Your likely maximum out of pocket cost to replace the most expensive item is the fridge at about $2,000. The other appliances would all cost in the range of $1,000 or less.

In general these appliances are all pretty reliable if they make it to the end of their individual manufacturer warranty periods so chances are very good that you'll never use the insurance. How much is the add on insurance policy you are considering? If it's more than $1,000 I'd skip it and put the cost of the insurance into a separate savings account and look to that to fund any major issue you run into down the road.
Old 08-21-2017, 05:16 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE