Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-13-2013, 07:13 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Port Orchard , Washington
Roof Ladder

Hello - Noob here and I have a couple of questions about a 1995 36' Land Yacht that is for sale on CraigsList in Phoenix. This rig looks well kept and in good condition but it does not have a roof ladder and I am wondering if one can be added or if there is a structural reason it doesn't have one. Also, there is evidence of a soft/rotted spot on the interior wall near the bedroom window. No evidence of a problem appears on the outside. Does anyone know what would be involved to repair this area? Any info would be appreciated. I really like this motorhome but would like to have an inkling as to what I might be taking on. Thanks very much. Carol
RVGal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:49 PM   #2
65th Anniversary CLIPPER

1996 36' Clipper Bus
Tub City , British Columbia
Welcome to the Forums.

These units were not offered with a rear ladder at the time by Airstream. There was no real need for them as the roof was only rated at 300# max.
A ladder could be added if wanted but probably would require a reinforcing plate on the rear cap where it mounts.

The other consideration was, even though the book said these units were 11'10" high, I believe this and later Freightliner chassis were actually just over 12' if the OEM air suspension is adjusted to factory specs.

This unit that you are looking at has been reviewed on this site previously and is owned by a current forum member.

It is always buyer beware when purchasing anything, and more so when the unit is 18yrs old. Do your homework with consideration of problems you might encounter.

These older units are best left to those people with some resources and abilities to do your own repairs as the shop rates are very expensive.