Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2013, 01:30 PM   #29
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,403
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdoane View Post
But don't you need a flux capacitor in the circuit also?
Yeah, but then you'd need a Mr. Reactor and then you'd have to find a banana peel and half a can of Schlitz.
__________________

__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 02:42 PM   #30
Rivet Master
 
Skater's Avatar
 
1995 30' Excella
Bowie , Maryland
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by idroba View Post
The main problem is that the National Electric Code has required GFIC outlets in RV park systems for many years now and thus finding a park without one is rare, and if you do find one, you probably should leave anyway.... it is old and illegal by todays standards.
Can I go back to the GFCI comment without starting another electrician flame war (which actually would be kind of cool to watch in real life)?

The 15/20 amp outlets in campgrounds often have GFCI outlets in them. I don't recall seeing GFCI on a 30 or 50 amp outlet, unless it's on the breaker upstream so I wouldn't see it. I thought I read somewhere there was an exception in the code for those.

I am NOT an electrician and not arguing; just looking for clarification.
__________________

__________________
1995 Airstream Classic 30' Excella 1000
2014 Ram 2500 Crew Cab with Cummins 6.7L Diesel

Sold but not forgotten: 1991 Airstream B190
Sold: 2006 F-250 6.0L Powerstroke Supercab
Skater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:15 PM   #31
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skater View Post
Can I go back to the GFCI comment without starting another electrician flame war (which actually would be kind of cool to watch in real life)?

The 15/20 amp outlets in campgrounds often have GFCI outlets in them. I don't recall seeing GFCI on a 30 or 50 amp outlet, unless it's on the breaker upstream so I wouldn't see it. I thought I read somewhere there was an exception in the code for those.

I am NOT an electrician and not arguing; just looking for clarification.
I don't know the answer to your question, but I've never seen a 30, or 50 amp GFCI. So, I did a search on an electrical supplier's website, and could not find one that way either.

Maybe some of our Electrician friends can chime in with the facts on the question.

There was arguing??? I don't remember arguing, but I do remember trying to make a point, with a lot of difficulty.
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:54 PM   #32
3 Rivet Member
 
JourneytoRet's Avatar
 
2000 36' Land Yacht XC Diesel
Gaffney , South Carolina
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 233
good grief, I forgot what my question was!
__________________
JourneytoRet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:56 PM   #33
3 Rivet Member
 
JourneytoRet's Avatar
 
2000 36' Land Yacht XC Diesel
Gaffney , South Carolina
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 233
oh yes, now I remember! so, i believe i have a 50A cable for the clipper. it has a gigantically thick cord but more importantly, i think, it has a male receptacle that has three blades, and a ground. the three blades are parallel and i think the 30amp plug has them angled, if that makes sense. so could Someone, not me, use that on the campground 220 and 120 and possible not pop the 220 all the time when Someone's wife is running the convection oven?
__________________
JourneytoRet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:57 PM   #34
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
GFCI in 30a 120v and 50a 120/240v are common. You can get them at Home Depot. Yes, they are breakers that install upstream.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 04:10 PM   #35
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdoane View Post
GFCI in 30a 120v and 50a 120/240v are common. You can get them at Home Depot. Yes, they are breakers that install upstream.
Are those GFCI circuit breakers, or outlets?
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 04:13 PM   #36
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneytoRet View Post
oh yes, now I remember! so, i believe i have a 50A cable for the clipper. it has a gigantically thick cord but more importantly, i think, it has a male receptacle that has three blades, and a ground. the three blades are parallel and i think the 30amp plug has them angled, if that makes sense. so could Someone, not me, use that on the campground 220 and 120 and possible not pop the 220 all the time when Someone's wife is running the convection oven?
If you are using a 30 amp adapter, and trying to run the air conditioner and the microwave at the same time, you will be tripping circuit breakers.
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:30 AM   #37
3 Rivet Member
 
JourneytoRet's Avatar
 
2000 36' Land Yacht XC Diesel
Gaffney , South Carolina
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 233
ok, my question is, could Someone plug the "cheater", reference the amazon link in my original post about 1357 pages ago (no offense to the very entertaining posts thereafter!), which would be plugged into a 220, or 221 volt outlet AND the 120 or 121 volt (anyone see Mr. Mom?) non-GFCI outlet and then plug in Someone's 50A RV plug so Someone's Wife didn't blow any breaker when she was running the convection and a/c?
__________________
JourneytoRet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:39 AM   #38
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneytoRet View Post
ok, my question is, could Someone plug the "cheater", reference the amazon link in my original post about 1357 pages ago (no offense to the very entertaining posts thereafter!), which would be plugged into a 220, or 221 volt outlet AND the 120 or 121 volt (anyone see Mr. Mom?) non-GFCI outlet and then plug in Someone's 50A RV plug so Someone's Wife didn't blow any breaker when she was running the convection and a/c?
To answer your question, no, or maybe.

The "cheater" in your link is designed to plug into a 120 volt, 30 amp outlet, and a 120 volt 20 amp outlet, and then adapt to a 50 amp plug. In this instance, it would give you more available power to your rig, but it would depend on which circuit the air conditioner and microwave were on, if it would eliminate the breaker tripping. Meaning, if the microwave was on one circuit, and the air conditioner on the other circuit, it would probably stop the circuit breaker from tripping.

But, if the two appliances were on the same circuit, or leg, the breaker will still trip.

Basically, the "cheater" will give you more power when 50 amp service is not available, but will it be enough?????
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:40 AM   #39
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,403
Images: 5
Assuming the adapter is wired correctly, and the campground is wired correctly, I believe so.

I cheat with my 30amp served AS by having a separate 12ga (IIRC) extension cord permanently installed through the shell of the AS and run to a spot under the dinette. When I am running higher loads, I plug into both the 30amp and the 15/20amp at the post and plug a heater, or dehumidifier, or toaster....etc. into the extension cord......so yes, I have found 45 - 50 amps available at the post at every campground I have used this way.

Is that the short answer to your long thread?
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:48 AM   #40
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
The thing is, and this is not to further complicate the answer, with the cheater you are connecting two 120 volt legs into your RV. But, you don't know which leg in your RV will be connected to the 20, and which leg connected to the 30 amp leg.

Additionally, you don't know which of these legs your appliances are connected to.

I can tell you this, our trailer has a 50 amp service input. When we have a 50 amp service to plug into, we can operate the microwave and both A/C units at the same time without tripping any breakers.

But, when we have 30 amp service, we can only operate one A/C unit, or the microwave at any one time.

I have not tried a "cheater" cord, but I do use an "adapter" cord that ties both legs in the trailer to the one hot leg in a 30 amp service outlet.
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:49 AM   #41
Streamin'
 
BarnacleBill's Avatar
 
1995 30' Cutter Bus LE
Madison , South Dakota
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 260
Images: 3
The Flux capacitor is on the Toad

__________________
BarnacleBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:51 AM   #42
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,403
Images: 5
Steve, not sure which "cheater" you are talking to. I agree with you relative to the OP's product question.....if you refer to my "poor man's" cheater....the 2 circuits are completely separated and do not commingle in any way. (That's a technical term....for high voltage dummies, like me)
__________________

__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why no 50 amp service? 92landyacht Land Yacht/Legacy Motorhomes 25 07-14-2013 06:49 PM
Yay! 50 amp Service upgrade - Done yve79 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 34 10-25-2012 08:23 PM
2008 Airstream Classic 31! 50 Amp Service, 2 AC Units! eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 08-30-2011 09:20 PM
3 Amp Availability gaylejoe WBCCI Forum 27 08-06-2011 04:38 PM
Question on using 50 amp sevice RLS Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 16 02-04-2011 02:14 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.