Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2009, 09:59 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2000 36' Land Yacht XC Diesel
Middletown , Ohio
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
2000 land yacht diesel blows house breaker after plug-in

We have just bought this and when I got it home and connected it to power from the house it pops the breaker a minute or so after I connect it. Even with the frig and the A/Cs turned off. Any help??
I would appreciate some good information from someone who knows a lot more about this than I do!

DAVID & PEGGY SHIPLEY
MIDDLETOWN, OHIO
dhshipley@cinci.rr.com
__________________

__________________
dhshipley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 11:33 PM   #2
New Member
 
2000 39' Land Yacht XL Diesel w/slide
tHOUSAND OAKS , California
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Talking blows house breaker

dave
I have an XL39 plugged into a 30 amp breaker with a big fat cord bigger the better(less heat = better)
__________________

__________________
socal tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 02:38 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member
 
myfirstrv's Avatar
 
2000 35' Land Yacht XL w/slide
Vermilion , Ohio
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 155
mine did that because the control panel for the AC unit was bad , tripped breaker even when ac was tuned off

Try triping all the breakers
plug it in
if nothing blows
slowly turn each breaker on one by one wait afew minutes between breakers
__________________
myfirstrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 02:43 PM   #4
Rivet Master

 
Vintage Kin Owner
Alachua county , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,645
What amperage is the plug you are using? 15 amp? blows breaker, 20 also sometimes. zz
__________________
zigzagguzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 10:43 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
2000 36' Land Yacht XC Diesel
Middletown , Ohio
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
House breaker?

I ran a dedicated line from a new 30 amp fuse in the breaker box to a new box I installed to plug the motorhome into. Everything worked fine! Until we took it out this weekend for the firat time out in it. The AC would not work off the generator! I checked the transfer switch and it seemed okay and the washing machine works. Also when we got back home the AC now will not work from shore power either. I checked for voltage at the wires in the little conduit box behind the filter on the front AC, which is the only one that has come on previously and there is none so I assume that there's something wrong with the breaker or a connection. Where is this control you refer to? Also when the thermostat control is on cool it only shows zone 1. I have two AC units. Is zone 1 the front AC? If so how do I get it to zone 2?
__________________
dhshipley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 07:05 PM   #6
New Member
 
2000 39' Land Yacht XL Diesel w/slide
tHOUSAND OAKS , California
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
dave
you can go between zone 1 and zone 2 by pushing both the fan button and mode button at the same time. if you have 50amps you can run both.
__________________
socal tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 10:02 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
2000 36' Land Yacht XC Diesel
Middletown , Ohio
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by socal tom View Post
dave
you can go between zone 1 and zone 2 by pushing both the fan button and mode button at the same time. if you have 50amps you can run both.

Thank you very much Tom! I'll check that out tomorrow!
David
__________________
dhshipley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 08:59 AM   #8
1 Rivet Member
 
2000 36' Land Yacht XC Diesel
Middletown , Ohio
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
That worked Tom! Thanks again! I pushed both of the buttons and it switched to zone 2 and the rear AC came on after a few seconds. Now I have to figure out why the zone 1 AC doesn't work. That narrowed it down some though!
__________________

__________________
dhshipley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire size for 2000 diesel 35' land yacht xc? dhshipley Flat-Front (Cutter, Clipper, XC, XL & Skydeck) Motorhomes 1 07-24-2009 10:33 PM
Tire size for 2000 diesel 35' land yacht xc? dhshipley Tires 0 07-24-2009 01:21 PM
Bought a new to me MH Land Yacht 30 2000 DaveFL Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... 4 05-21-2009 11:43 AM
2000 Land Yacht ?? ghorne General Repair Forum 0 11-27-2007 06:40 PM
'90 Land Yacht Breaker Location leomarcotte General Motorhome Topics 1 05-14-2003 04:34 AM





All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.
Modal Click