Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2011, 06:39 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
92landyacht's Avatar
 
1992 36' Land Yacht
Grayson , Georgia
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 772
Why no 50 amp service?

I don't understand why AS put a 7kw generator in my 92 36' LY and only gave it 30 amp service. It's wired to only run one of the air conditioners at a time but the genset has power to spare. Just makes no sense. Any ideas as to how to get full 50amp service?
__________________

__________________
92landyacht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 07:46 PM   #2
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
If you ever figure out how to do it, there are a ton of us out here that will worship at your feet. You might find a electrician that would be willing to get you a extra 20 amp cord for the rear roof. My problem was, my electrician said I'd have to dismantle the curbside vanity and closet to get to the wiring, and then figure a way to route the new cable. With my coach, I could understand the 30 amp deal, but, geeez, in '92 50 amp was available and is now standard at most decent parks. It was a stupid mistake on the part of AS from day one with our coaches; we should have had dual plugs so as to run that rear roof air.
__________________

__________________
"A settled wisdom, plus the itch to be elsewhere"
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 08:25 PM   #3
Moderator
 
HiHoAgRV's Avatar

 
1991 34' Excella
1963 26' Overlander
1961 26' Overlander
Central , Mississippi
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,326
Images: 29
Blog Entries: 49
My '87 MH had the same setup...I'm gussin it a carryover from the days before 50A service
__________________
Hi Ho Silver RV! Vernon, Sarah, Mac the Border Collie -
A honkin' long 34' named AlumaTherapy http://www.airforums.com/forums/f205...num-54749.html
and a 26' '63 Overlander, Dolly http://www.airforums.com/forums/f109...ome-71609.html
HiHoAgRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 09:54 PM   #4
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
I've done several coach conversions and one travel trailer upgrade from 30 amp to 50 amp. None were Airstreams, but the procedure would be identical.

It will involve extensive re-wiring of the coach, new transfer switch, breaker box, breakers and shore cord. Lots of new wires to run and lots of time needed to do the job correctly. Also, all involved replacing both the inverter and converter with a single inverter/charger unit.

I don't have any schematics, as all of the coaches were different in their original wiring approach. Hope you like to pull wire!!! PM me or e-mail for more discussion.

Thanks!
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:52 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
DaveFL's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,479
Images: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiHoAgRV View Post
My '87 MH had the same setup...I'm gussin it a carryover from the days before 50A service
They kept carrying long after my 2000 unit, but made it a $700 option for 50 amps, even tho they used a 50 amp genset.
__________________
DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 10:51 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
1994 35' Land Yacht Diesel
Knoxville , Tennessee
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 25
I have a 1994 LY Diesel pusher with 50 AMP service, I believe you had to order the washer/dryer combo to get 50 AMP service in 1995?, don't know about 1994.
__________________
442 john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 01:06 PM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Excella
Ontario , Canada
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 178
Well I'm not an electrician but would it be that hard? I have a 2005 LY 30. The power comes in thru the trunk and under thr bed to the breaker. Why couldn't I add another 30 amp cord coming in the trunk to a breaker there and then run along the road side to the genset just in front of the duals. You could run the wire under the floor. If I disconnect the wires that run from the genset to the rear a/c and connect up the new 30 amp wiring, wouldn't that work. Sure I could not then run rhe rear a/c from the genset but that's ok with us. As far as the genset knows, nobody ever turns on the rear a/c unit so it never has to supply power to it.

Sounds too simple. Maybe an electrician could explain why it wouldn't work.

Why would the 12 volt system need to be involved? I am assuming that the fan in the a/c unit is 110/120.
__________________
woodytwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 01:37 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
92landyacht's Avatar
 
1992 36' Land Yacht
Grayson , Georgia
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 772
In theory, adding additional circuits seems like it would be an easy job. Just add circuits to the existing box, beef up the transfer switches…
Seems to me like the hardest part is to fish the new wires. From what I can tell, they didn't provide any conduits to fish wires through. Just bundles of wires tie wrapped to frame members. Any additional circuits would require disassembly of the ceiling panles or runs under the floor of the unit. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Anyone know where the transfer switches are on a 92 36' LY?
__________________
92landyacht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 04:31 PM   #9
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by 92landyacht View Post
In theory, adding additional circuits seems like it would be an easy job. Just add circuits to the existing box, beef up the transfer switches…
Seems to me like the hardest part is to fish the new wires. From what I can tell, they didn't provide any conduits to fish wires through. Just bundles of wires tie wrapped to frame members. Any additional circuits would require disassembly of the ceiling panles or runs under the floor of the unit. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Anyone know where the transfer switches are on a 92 36' LY?
Unfortunately, you don't just 'add a few circuits' and 'beef up the transfer switch'. To do it right (which is the ONLY WAY), you need to replace the 30 amp transfer switch with a 50 amp version, replace your 30 amp 10/3AWG shore cord with a 50 amp 6/4 AWG unit, replace your 30 amp single line circuit breaker box with a 50 amp dual line breaker box and then add the extra circuits (like your #2 roof A/C) and split and balance the circuits so the load is even across both incoming legs in the breaker box.

Sounds simple, doesn't it?

Then you need to be sure that your generator has the capability to be re-wired for dual 120VAC circuits and run the 6/4 AWG wire from the genny to the new transfer switch.

Still with me?

If you're not completely familiar with 120VAC and 240VAC wiring, this is NOT a DIY job.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 05:34 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Not being an owner of a MH (bus). My first question would be. Do you have a 50 amp shore power cable? Or is it 30 amp as well? The next question is: What size are the air conditioners? A 7KW generator is good for about 48 amps of continuous load. Is the bus wired for 120 volt or 240 volt? Again not familiar with a bus. An experienced electrician can determine which it is. The electrician can also determine what the load (current draw) of the bus is when you are plugged into shore power and both air conditioners are running along with other items that are in regular use in the bus.
If you are able to run both air conditioners on shore power and you wanted to put up with not having an auto transfer setup. It may be possible to wire the generator to a receptacle that you would plug the shore power cable into. There would be no auto transfer, chances are this function would be removed in the rewire process.
But again you would need to have an experienced (RV savvy) electrician to determine if the generator has the capacity and is wired for the same voltage as the bus.
I don't know where the shore power cable location is relative to the generator, it may not be practical. If the locations work out, there would be a requirement of a properly sized circuit breaker in order to allow the generator to get up to speed and warm up prior to putting power to the bus.
Is the fuel source for the generator the same as for the bus engine? 'cuz that baby is going to consume some fuel with 2 air conditioners running.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:49 PM   #11
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
I'm thinking there is some way (since my gen set will run both roof airs) that there might be a way (without ripping half the coach apart) to install a transfer switch that would enable me to run the the rear air on a seperate 20 amp circuit that would be plugged in to shore power along with our normal 30 amps. That would entail another cable, but, geez, what's the option?
__________________
"A settled wisdom, plus the itch to be elsewhere"
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:11 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
blkmagikca's Avatar

 
1987 32' Excella
Nepean , Ontario
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,132
I had had a '94 LY diesel pusher that came with 30 amp shore power. I had a friend redesign the schematic using the 2 existing ATS switches to work on 50 amp. Prior to finalizing the design, he checked with CSA to make sure that the changes would comply. The interesting thing is that you don't need the massive cable used for 50-amp, because you are still using 30-amps, but at 240 volts. The wire gauge is unchanged. While I sold this motorhome, I still have a copy of the revised schematic and will email it. Just message me through this forum with your email address.

As an addenda, with the 6.5kW genset, the house main panel did not need replacing or modifying. The sole modification was to rewire the 2 ATS switches to function as a single one. The original circuit had the neutral being switched - this was not necessary (as per CSA) so the existing relays were sufficient. The shore cable needed to be replaced from 3-wire to 4-wire, but the same gauge.
__________________
VE3JDZ
AIR 12148
1987 Excella 32-foot
1999 Dodge Ram 2500HD Diesel
blkmagikca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:23 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
92landyacht's Avatar
 
1992 36' Land Yacht
Grayson , Georgia
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 772
I still think the major issue is in doing the cable runs. Replacing breaker boxes and transfer switches are easy. It's simply a matter of disconnecting and reconnecting the connections to new components and maybe modifying the openings for the additional components. Replacing the main shore cable is a given. Adding the new wires, IMHO, is still the biggest issue. This is coming from 20+ years experience in doing industrial wiring as a controls engineer. I figure, if I can do a new production plant with 480V 3-phase, I can do a simple 120/240 single-phase design. The genset that comes in a 92 LY is a 7KW unit. For AS to install a 30amp system simply makes no sense since the genset can easily pull 48amps continuous. I just wish AS had made it easier to add additional wires without having to resort to running them under the unit or disassembling the ceiling.
__________________
92landyacht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:44 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
crazeevw's Avatar

 
1989 34.5' Airstream 345
Saint Petersburg , Florida
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,687
Images: 28
Search through the Classic Motorhome section. Someone has a detailed write-up of how to run the 2nd A/C unit while still having only a 30amp hook-up. Basically, it involves disconnecting the 2nd A/C (usually the rear) from the existing wiring, and running a separate power cord just for the 2nd A/C. It's fairly simple, by the way I read it, just have never needed 2 A/C's just yet to know if I'll make the attempt. If I can find the thread, I'll post the link here next.
Thanks, Derek
__________________

__________________
crazeevw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp to 15 Amp Adapter to House Power Question Steamboatbob Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 29 04-09-2017 10:43 PM
Yay! 50 amp Service upgrade - Done yve79 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 34 10-25-2012 08:23 PM
2008 Airstream Classic 31! 50 Amp Service, 2 AC Units! eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 08-30-2011 09:20 PM
3 Amp Availability gaylejoe WBCCI Forum 27 08-06-2011 04:38 PM
Question on using 50 amp sevice RLS Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 16 02-04-2011 02:14 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.