Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2011, 09:57 PM   #15
4 Rivet Member
 
TRfour's Avatar
 
Grand Prairie , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 337
Post Another View

It is not uncommon that the AirStream factory had an overstock of 30 AMP wiring harnesses. You know, the more you buy can help to keep overall costs down. They just got caught in an flip of the switch to 50 AMP service, and could not absorb losing what was already in stock.
__________________

__________________
Terry

My photo album; http://www.winnipesaukee.com/photopo...e=22&ppuser=83
TRfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 09:46 AM   #16
Rivet Master
 
blkmagikca's Avatar

 
1987 32' Excella
Nepean , Ontario
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by 92landyacht View Post
I still think the major issue is in doing the cable runs. Replacing breaker boxes and transfer switches are easy. It's simply a matter of disconnecting and reconnecting the connections to new components and maybe modifying the openings for the additional components. Replacing the main shore cable is a given. Adding the new wires, IMHO, is still the biggest issue. This is coming from 20+ years experience in doing industrial wiring as a controls engineer. I figure, if I can do a new production plant with 480V 3-phase, I can do a simple 120/240 single-phase design. The genset that comes in a 92 LY is a 7KW unit. For AS to install a 30amp system simply makes no sense since the genset can easily pull 48amps continuous. I just wish AS had made it easier to add additional wires without having to resort to running them under the unit or disassembling the ceiling.
As I mentioned before, *if* your main breaker box is wired for 240-volts (i.e., the 2 x 120-volts output from the genset), then the only modification is to redo the ATS switches. I have offered to email the schematic which we used to anyone who PM's me.

In my case, the only cost was the new shore cable and plug (I did have a faulty time-delay relay which I was able to source and replace for $10).

Granted, not all AS motor homes are wired alike, but the schematic, which really is a redesign of the ATS switches from 2 30-amp ones into a single 50-amp one using all the existing components without the need for any additional ones, can be used as a starting point. For someone who has either an electrical engineering background or certified electrician, it should provide a starting point.

If, on the other hand, the shore power, main breaker box and genset are all 30-amp 120-volt, then running additional wiring would be required, and that can be a major undertaking.
__________________

__________________
VE3JDZ
AIR 12148
1987 Excella 32-foot
1999 Dodge Ram 2500HD Diesel
blkmagikca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:12 AM   #17
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazeevw View Post
just have never needed 2 A/C's just yet to know if I'll make the attempt. If I can find the thread, I'll post the link here next.
Thanks, Derek
Would be appreciated, down here in the deep desert, come April, we could use THREE roof airs!
__________________
"A settled wisdom, plus the itch to be elsewhere"
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 05:47 PM   #18
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Excella
Ontario , Canada
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 178
Thumbs up

Well crazeevw that is what I was thinking in my previous post. The second 30 amp cable is fairly inexpensive and could be hooked up to the 50 amp connection on the post with a 30 to 50 amp pigtail. (you could use one of your extra 30 amp extension cords.) You wouldn't need to have both a/c running unless it was 95 in the shade. And how often are you really hooked up to the genny anyway.

In my previous post, I questioned the 12v requirement but now know that the fan runs on 12v. If my approach to this is valid (still in doubt) then you wouldn't need to fish new wires thru the ceiling to the a/c.

So why won't it work?
__________________
woodytwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 09:32 PM   #19
2 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
Grain Valley , Missouri
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 69
This may be the link crazeevw was looking for. It is a fairly simple procedure to wire in a separate plug for the second air.
RV.Net Open Roads Forum: How to run two AC's with 30 Amp Service UPDATE UPDATE
__________________
QuietWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 07:27 AM   #20
4 Rivet Member
 
Schools Out's Avatar
 
2005 30' Land Yacht 30 SL
Rockford , Michigan
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 275
Images: 12
When we purchased our LY we knew nothing about 30 amp/50 amp service & running the ACs. Our first night in the LY was in hot, humid Florida. When the bedroom air wouldn't start we called the dealership & asked what the trick to turning it on was. We were asked if the front air was running..."yes, it's the bedroom AC that won't start." (We had been shown during the 10 minute walk-thru that it worked.) We were then given this sequence to running both ACs. 1) start the front AC, run on high, get things cooled down. 2) Turn front AC down to low setting. 3) Turn back AC on low. 4) Chill.
This seemed to work. Both Acs were running. Then at some point the front AC turned off. By this time we were sleeping & cooled off... Sometimes ignorance is bliss...just hope this wasn't potentially harmful to the electrical system. We have very few times when 2 AC's are needed. But, I always thought we could use this start-up sequence if needed. Maybe not such a good idea.
__________________
Schools Out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 07:39 AM   #21
Rivet Master
 
92landyacht's Avatar
 
1992 36' Land Yacht
Grayson , Georgia
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 772
On my 92 LY there's a switch in the kitchen cabinet that switches power from the front to the back AC. No way to run both at the same time since only one can get power at a time. Just seems strange that they would install a genset (7KV) that can provide 48 amps of current when the breaker box can only support 30 amps. Why didn't they just install a 5.5KV genset and save the money?
__________________
92landyacht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:03 AM   #22
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Excella
Ontario , Canada
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 178
Thumbs up

Quietwater, that was a great link. The information is very well described and with great pictures.

Much appreciated and thank you.
Bill
__________________
woodytwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 08:39 PM   #23
Rivet Master
 
crazeevw's Avatar

 
1989 34.5' Airstream 345
Saint Petersburg , Florida
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,687
Images: 28
Check this link out, only one I could find so far.
Thanks, Derek

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f311...ion-20737.html
__________________
crazeevw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 10:15 PM   #24
1 Rivet Member
 
1994 31' Legacy 30
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkmagikca View Post
I had had a '94 LY diesel pusher that came with 30 amp shore power. I had a friend redesign the schematic using the 2 existing ATS switches to work on 50 amp. Prior to finalizing the design, he checked with CSA to make sure that the changes would comply. The interesting thing is that you don't need the massive cable used for 50-amp, because you are still using 30-amps, but at 240 volts. The wire gauge is unchanged. While I sold this motorhome, I still have a copy of the revised schematic and will email it. Just message me through this forum with your email address.

As an addenda, with the 6.5kW genset, the house main panel did not need replacing or modifying. The sole modification was to rewire the 2 ATS switches to function as a single one. The original circuit had the neutral being switched - this was not necessary (as per CSA) so the existing relays were sufficient. The shore cable needed to be replaced from 3-wire to 4-wire, but the same gauge.
Can you still send the revised schematic? I have a 30' 94 LY, Gas, but the wiring should be similar. My email is ctayers1@verizon.net.
__________________
ctatoday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 10:12 PM   #25
Rivet Master
 
blkmagikca's Avatar

 
1987 32' Excella
Nepean , Ontario
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctatoday View Post
Can you still send the revised schematic? I have a 30' 94 LY, Gas, but the wiring should be similar. My email is ctayers1@verizon.net.
See: http://www.airforums.com/forums/f312...x-92524-2.html
and
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f160...tml#post220114

The schematic is also uploaded.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	City power circuit.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	167.1 KB
ID:	190786  
__________________
VE3JDZ
AIR 12148
1987 Excella 32-foot
1999 Dodge Ram 2500HD Diesel
blkmagikca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:49 PM   #26
Ready to go campin?
 
wvabeer's Avatar
 
1992 33' Land Yacht
Evans , West Virginia
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 349
Images: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazeevw View Post
Search through the Classic Motorhome section. Someone has a detailed write-up of how to run the 2nd A/C unit while still having only a 30amp hook-up. Basically, it involves disconnecting the 2nd A/C (usually the rear) from the existing wiring, and running a separate power cord just for the 2nd A/C. It's fairly simple, by the way I read it, just have never needed 2 A/C's just yet to know if I'll make the attempt. If I can find the thread, I'll post the link here next.
Thanks, Derek
The PO did this to my M/H I have never tried it but was told it cools fast using shore power. and my manual says the generator will run both a/c's but only will run.
__________________

__________________
92 Landyacht 33, 454 tag axle
wvabeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp to 15 Amp Adapter to House Power Question Steamboatbob Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 29 04-09-2017 10:43 PM
Yay! 50 amp Service upgrade - Done yve79 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 34 10-25-2012 08:23 PM
2008 Airstream Classic 31! 50 Amp Service, 2 AC Units! eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 08-30-2011 09:20 PM
3 Amp Availability gaylejoe WBCCI Forum 27 08-06-2011 04:38 PM
Question on using 50 amp sevice RLS Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 16 02-04-2011 02:14 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.