Old 02-22-2015, 11:06 AM   #1

Miami , Florida
Land Yacht 26' vs. 30'?

Hi everyone - I'm new to this great forum as my wife and I are looking to purchase a 2000-2006 Land Yacht for a trip this summer from Florida to the Pacific Northwest. We originally were thinking about the 26', but are also looking into the 30' due to better availability and in most cases lower pricing. There will be just the two of us and our golden retriever for the majority of the trip, but might be joined by our son for short periods when in Washington. Was wondering about some comparisons that some of you may have encountered such as:

I) exterior size - I like the idea of dry camping due to nicer sites but don't want something too large that would prevent access into these areas. Would the extra length of the 30' (31' 2" actual) prevent us from getting into many areas where we could go with the 26'?

II) interior size - I think the layout of the 26' is great for it's size, but the 30' obviously has more living space and a larger bed. Will mainly be just the two of us and the dog for 99% of the time.

III) Driveability - I assume that once on the highway they are probably very similar, unless the extra wheelbase of the 30' creates an advantage for the larger unit? I'm leaning towards the 26' in this regard due to parking and maneuverability however.

IV) engine - I've seen some 2001 units that have the 454 engine, while for 2002 and newer the engine switched to an 8.1 liter GM. I'm assuming the bigger engine is better, or are both adequate?

V) Is there anything we should stay away from in regards to years, engine choice, transmissions, etc..?

Thanks for your thoughts on these items or anything else I should be considering!!

Old 02-24-2015, 03:37 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by divein View Post
h as: