Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2013, 11:09 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Fort Erie , Ontario
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 185
J71 Auto Park Issue History Collection

Just Wondering?
How many of you have had an A/P "experience" and what were the "fixes"?

The J71 has in infamous history, having had my own experience. If any of you have had such a failure, it would be "of interest" to collect such info.

Do not need the experience, but the "fault" and "fix", eg: the infamous RGS, "green", "brown" or "gray", the solenoid "dump" valve or relay, or any other problem. On second thought, an "at speed failure" and how you managed that would also be of benefit to others.

There has been volumes of discussion on this issue and it would be nice to put it to bed..

Welcome your responses,

Steve
__________________

__________________
is.chowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 07:31 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member
 
2003 31' Land Yacht 30
amelia island , Florida
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 30
still waiting for mine to be fixed, meanwhile putting jacks down at every stop. would welcome all suggestions, cc does not work either.
__________________

__________________
snickers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 01:33 AM   #3
New Member
 
2004 30' Land Yacht Gas 30
Ft. Myers , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Auto Park

After being stuck six times and thousands of $, I disabled mine and use chocks.
A real P.O.S.
Joe
__________________
glasair44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 05:39 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
DaveFL's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,478
Images: 15
Mine went bad two weeks ago, moved it 30 ft in driveway, brakes applied wouldn't release.
No previous indication of a problem. Released by undoing the adjustment nut at the unit.
Sent hydraulic part out to Oregon for rebuild purchased both green and grey switches hoping Oldusedbear has it already heading back to me. Cost $102(including shipping) hydraulics, 30+18 switches(Amazon), 10 for ATF and time.(will estimate 8 hrs including cleanup of parts)
Chevy quit making and passed it on to Workhorse, if this doesn't solve it I will be ready for the manual hand brake Steve it will be interesting to see how many respond.
According to Oldusedbear hydraulics only last as long as tires, same rubber(plastic) breakdown and should be expected by owners.
__________________
DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 07:49 AM   #5
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Fort Erie , Ontario
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 185
I have put in Brazel's switches in mine as well as the steel bushing and 75A relay so am good to go. The Hydraulic dump valve was replaced as this was causing intermittent lock ups. Dave since your and mine are the same year, gonna keep an eye on for a leaking actuator. Wish I had the part numbers for the O ring for the actuator. Just in case.

Steve
__________________
is.chowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 04:56 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
DaveFL's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,478
Images: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by is.chowa View Post
Wish I had the part numbers for the O ring for the actuator. Just in case.

Steve
I didn't see any numbers on my actuator or who the manufacturer was.
I would guess a good hydraulic shop could measure and determine right size. Problem is Chevy's fix is to replace actuator not rebuild it and I would guess workhorse is doing the same thing.
__________________
DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 07:33 AM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Fort Erie , Ontario
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 185
Someone did a self rebuild for about $6.00 for the o rings, can't recall if it was on this site.

Steve
__________________
is.chowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 04:55 AM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
Airstream12557's Avatar
 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Evansville , Indiana
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 279
My 2005 has the "rotten green switch" by the cylinder near the frame rail and just behind the step. There is a similar looking pressure switch at the pump unit under the hood beside the leveling jacks hydraulic unit. Are both pressure switches the same model number and thus interchangable?

Sam
__________________
Airstream12557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 07:30 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Excella
Ontario , Canada
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airstream12557 View Post
My 2005 has the "rotten green switch" by the cylinder near the frame rail and just behind the step. There is a similar looking pressure switch at the pump unit under the hood beside the leveling jacks hydraulic unit. Are both pressure switches the same model number and thus interchangable?

Sam
Hi Sam.

read somewhere recently but can't remember where that the 2005 model year has the J72 version of the auto park brake. So not the problems of the J71. For what it's worth.
__________________
woodytwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 05:10 AM   #10
4 Rivet Member
 
Airstream12557's Avatar
 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Evansville , Indiana
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 279
I would suggest that everyone with an AutoPark on their motorhome carry a spare "rotten green switch" in case your switch fails and the emergency brake locks up. The switch is fairly easy to access -- it is under a panel that has to be removed by the frame rail just inside the step. If you cannot replace it, any roadside service technician can. The definate sign of failure is leaking hydraulic fluid (small amount) from the switch and around the access panel. The switches can be ordered from any GM dealer (Don Wood Automotive -- www.donwood.com has a good price. Also, Amazon has the switch listed for even less). You need a spare switch in your motorhome!

Lots of information on the Internet on the AutoPark system.

Sam
__________________
Airstream12557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 07:33 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
DaveFL's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,478
Images: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airstream12557 View Post
.... The switch is fairly easy to access -- it is under a panel that has to be removed by the frame rail just inside the step. If you cannot replace it, any roadside service technician can. ...

Sam
BUT only if he knows the difference between inch pounds and foot pounds.

109 inch pounds and the o-ring does the sealing, more and the aluminum threads will strip, and the part it screws into has to be kept in place or he will lose a spring poppit valve it holds in place.
__________________
DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 05:15 AM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
Airstream12557's Avatar
 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Evansville , Indiana
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 279
Good point DaveFL. The o-ring and small diameter aluminum thread should be a clue that the mechanic doesn't need a cheater bar to torque in the switch. ;-(

Point still is that if you have an AutoPark, you should carry a spare "rotten green switch".

Sam -- See you down the road
__________________
Airstream12557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 09:48 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
2005 30' Classic
2005 30' Land Yacht Gas 30
Near the water , Wa
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 33
2005 landyacht J71 tune up

New to landyacht and P30, so I looked mine over very carefully as we could not hold 1500 rpm, for 5 seconds as per the test procedure. Easy test , does not hold, rolls down the hill. So, I checked, our bus has a J71 system, and is a 2005.
Changed the atf. Looked at the green switch, no sign of leakage. Checked the actuator and no sign of leakage. The cables looked OK. Adjusted the shoes till locked up and then backed off five clicks. The last step was adjust the cable at the actuator so the travel was 1.25".
We now don't roll down the hill.

Finally, if there is a issue of hydraulic pressure failure on the road, I would as a last resort, cut the cable to be able to drive to a safer repair location. I ordered a spare cable for 30 dollars from stepvanparts.Com and so can fix it with out waiting for parts should the need arise.

Now carry a spare motor control switch, 30 dollars at Amazon, as rvautopark.com says 80 percent of the failures, are this switch, as a failed switch is a hydraulic leak potentially causing lock up.

From you experienced LY owners, or P30, any thoughts?
__________________
Bella123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 04:37 AM   #14
4 Rivet Member
 
Airstream12557's Avatar
 
2015 30' Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Evansville , Indiana
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 279
Bella123, I just received two "rotten green switches" from Amazon; was just under $50 at my door (free shipping). The Amazon switches were in the identical sealed General Motors package as a earlier switch I had ordered on line from a GM parts supplier. His price for one switch was about the same as for two from Amazon. Local parts stores, including GM dealers were about twice as expensive as the on line GM parts supplier.

Good point about cutting the cable.

Sam
__________________

__________________
Airstream12557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.