Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2009, 04:07 AM   #21
2 Rivet Member
 
1993 33' Land Yacht
Spring , Texas
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by porourke View Post
Ours is on a Chevy p30 chasie. I dont intend to redo our tv setup. We never use the one thats there. What I am trying to find out from any of the menbers that might know Is on my 1993 Land Yacht MH is were the high speed fan relay for the dash AC is located and what do I have to do to acess it.

Thanks - Pat

PS. Your mod looks good! I saved it to the HD so We could blow it up and take a closer look.

Well its been a good while and its working OK! The Hi Seed fan relay is behind the drivers side dash be hind the instrument panel. I am almost 70 years old. Too old to stand on my head to get to it so I disconnected the Battery and pulled the dash panel off. The relay was there hanging by the wire harness it was plugged into. Removed it and pried the cap off of it and the Normally open ones contacts, the ones that feed the motor in hi speed were cooked. replaced it and left the cover off so I could see how much arc I got when I turned it off or changed speeds and it was a bunch! This was the third time I have had this same problem since we have had it but had other people work on it because I didn't have time. The arcing is coming from the back- emf spike the motor generates when you try to break the contacts feeding it. To eliminate it I put a 1n4007 diode hooked up backwards across the motor leads right at the motor. Now when you open the contacts and the field on the motor starts to collapse the voltage polarity on the motor leads reverses, the diode conducts and shorts the arc out to ground. No arcing on the contacts this way. I also lengthened the wires and moved the relay and the speed resistor block out from behind the dash and mounted everything on the metal partition just to the left of the TV. Easy to get to ___

Not trying to toot my horn just hope this will might keep someone from going through what I had to!


Thanks A Bunch -
__________________

porourke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 07:01 PM   #22
Streamin'
 
BarnacleBill's Avatar
 
1995 30' Cutter Bus LE
Madison , South Dakota
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 291
Images: 3
Steve (spat61) asked how I converted my old CRT (Tube) TV to a flat screen. Here is a brief description.
When you remove the old style CRT TV there is quite a bit of space in the hole it was in. I built some shelves to hold the satellite receiver, the Xbox and the DVD player/recorder.
I am attaching some pictures, I hope.
They now set in the bottom of the hole left by the old TV. I was going to make a bracket device so the new flat screen TV could be lowered over this equipment when we where under way, but it turned out that it was not necessary. The new TV is not in the way just permanently mounted above the other equipment. There is strong metal structure just above the hole the old TV was in that holds the new flat screen very securely even on those roads in Oklahoma City.





I am including a wiring schematic that you may find helpful.
I will try to help with any questions you may have.

__________________

BarnacleBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:12 PM   #23
3 Rivet Member
 
myfirstrv's Avatar
 
2000 35' Land Yacht XL w/slide
Vermilion , Ohio
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 155
OK _ I wanted to replace the front TV for a while now
Last year took it apart could not fiquire out how to remove the tv.
Then this christmas I bought a 26 in tv with the WiFi card installed in it
I mounted it up high, by the three glass flip up doors - I removed the middle glass door and made an oak door that swung to the left and mounted the tv betweeen the existing glass doors. Went to FLA liked the tv.
Came home and tried to remove the old tv, there where 4 screws in the front however that was to secure the brackets to the frame, I had to remove the brackets in order to remove the tv thru the opening,-- well after 3 hours I just got out the saw zaw and in 5 mins the tv was out, no damage to the frame the old tv was scratched a bit - I didnt mind whats a 10 year old sony worth ???
any way so nowI have a cavity to fill - Ideas ? Wine cooler? little fridge ? cabinet ?
myfirstrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:56 PM   #24
3 Rivet Member
 
myfirstrv's Avatar
 
2000 35' Land Yacht XL w/slide
Vermilion , Ohio
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 155
See attached
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00011-20110105-1857.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	148.8 KB
ID:	121227   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00002-20110105-1644.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	192.2 KB
ID:	121228  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00003-20110105-1645.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	196.6 KB
ID:	121229   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00010-20110105-1857.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	190.7 KB
ID:	121230  

myfirstrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:57 PM   #25
3 Rivet Member
 
myfirstrv's Avatar
 
2000 35' Land Yacht XL w/slide
Vermilion , Ohio
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 155
more pic's
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00007-20110105-1649.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	146.0 KB
ID:	121232   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00008-20110105-1649.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	231.8 KB
ID:	121233  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00006-20110105-1645.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	220.8 KB
ID:	121234  
myfirstrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:58 PM   #26
3 Rivet Member
 
myfirstrv's Avatar
 
2000 35' Land Yacht XL w/slide
Vermilion , Ohio
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 155
last one
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00009-20110105-1649.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	203.9 KB
ID:	121235  
myfirstrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:02 PM   #27
1 Rivet Member
 
1992 36' Land Yacht
Alexandria , Virginia
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Dash TV Project - '92 LY 36" TAG

Have finished a box that I made from scrap that will fit into dash TV space. Decided not to put a TV there because I have mounted a new, very lightweight, thin 24" one on the back of the table between the two barrel chairs. In addition, I scrapped the rear TV and mounted a bracket to the bottom of the enclosure to which I attached a 20" LCD/DVD combo unit that fits flush against the enclosure, with two bungees for travel. The new box in the dash is roughly a foot square and will house a number of things: a 7" GPS, a new CB (the old one is shot) and maybe another component or two, plus storage, and provide quick access to the inside of the dash for repair work. I would like to modify the electrics that went to the old AC/DC TV so that it works when the key is "on", and so I could use it for other stuff, but I haven't yet figured out how to do it - suggestions will be appreciated!! D&D
ddgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 12:55 PM   #28
3 Rivet Member
 
myfirstrv's Avatar
 
2000 35' Land Yacht XL w/slide
Vermilion , Ohio
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 155
I like the Idea of storage and also running DC power to the area, For cell phones, GPS etc..
As to your question, I would think the power inverter that powered your odd TV was tied into some type of relay that when the Ignition is on it told the relay to kill the power to the inverter. I would think you could elimiate this relay.
Just thinking out loud - I am usually wrong in these things
myfirstrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 07:24 PM   #29
1 Rivet Member
 
1990 36' Land Yacht
Dearborn Heights , Michigan
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
I too would like to replace the analog CRT TV in the dash of my Land Yacht with a digital flatscreen, the R&R would be the easy part. What i need to know is this; when i turn the ignition key on the tv becomes a rear view monitor, how would i connect the new tv without losing this function? anyone deal with this situation yet? Thanks, Mark
__________________
"Silver Lining"
MrFixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 07:39 PM   #30
Rivet Master
 
Michigander's Avatar
 
2005 30' Land Yacht 30 SL
Oakland County , Michigan
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 506
MrFixit,
First of all, you would need 120 v ac running to the tv. I don't think I've ever seen a tv the size of one that would fill up the space there that runs on 12v dc. Usually, they are smaller.

That would mean you would have to run your generator when backing up or have an awfully long extension cord. Otherwise, all you would have to do is plug the back-up camera into a different input than the antenna/cable input, turn on the tv and access the correct input when backing up. I'm sure it could be done. Cool idea.
__________________
Bob & Nancy
2005 ASLYG 30 SO
2009 Wrangler Toad
Michigan
Michigander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 12:41 AM   #31
1 Rivet Member
 
1990 36' Land Yacht
Dearborn Heights , Michigan
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
padillab, First of all, the existing factory installed tv IS 120 v ac powered by a factory installed inverter. 2nd, the the input automatically switches to the rear view camera when the ignition is switched on since it is illegal in most places to have a functional television in view of the driver.
__________________
"Silver Lining"
MrFixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 12:48 PM   #32
Rivet Master
 
Michigander's Avatar
 
2005 30' Land Yacht 30 SL
Oakland County , Michigan
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFixit View Post
padillab, First of all, the existing factory installed tv IS 120 v ac powered by a factory installed inverter. 2nd, the the input automatically switches to the rear view camera when the ignition is switched on since it is illegal in most places to have a functional television in view of the driver.
Well, it's good that you have 120v already there. That solves that problem. Not sure how to get the tv to automatically switch on. Does your owner's manual have any wiring diagrams to look at? I'll check mine and see if I can find anything.
__________________
Bob & Nancy
2005 ASLYG 30 SO
2009 Wrangler Toad
Michigan
Michigander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 12:52 PM   #33
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,220
Images: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFixit View Post
padillab, First of all, the existing factory installed tv IS 120 v ac powered by a factory installed inverter. 2nd, the the input automatically switches to the rear view camera when the ignition is switched on since it is illegal in most places to have a functional television in view of the driver.
So... What is stopping the new TV from working exactly as the old CRT one did?

If all connections are the same, shouldn't it be a direct replacement both physically and functionally? If you use the same connections, you should get the same results.
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 09:05 PM   #34
Rivet Master
 
Michigander's Avatar
 
2005 30' Land Yacht 30 SL
Oakland County , Michigan
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 506
Most tv's, when ths power is turned off, default to a situation where you have to press a button on the tv or remote in order to turn the unit back on. So I think that you would have to bypass this function on whatever you install.

BTW, I did take a quick look at my owners manual for the back up monitor and found that it runs on 12 volts (at least mine does). Not sure how you would integrate the 12v and 120v systems.

Let's keep this going, we'll figure it out.
__________________
Bob & Nancy
2005 ASLYG 30 SO
2009 Wrangler Toad
Michigan
Michigander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 09:23 PM   #35
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,220
Images: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by padillab View Post
Most tv's, when ths power is turned off, default to a situation where you have to press a button on the tv or remote in order to turn the unit back on. So I think that you would have to bypass this function on whatever you install.

BTW, I did take a quick look at my owners manual for the back up monitor and found that it runs on 12 volts (at least mine does). Not sure how you would integrate the 12v and 120v systems.

Let's keep this going, we'll figure it out.
Aha, good point, Bob: the OP may have to try the line-in type connection on the TV, many of those will "remember" how they are set.

Failing that I see two options:
  1. if the poster wants to have the unit be a television, the most simple solution might be to simply turn on the TV by its remote and tune in ch 03 (or line in, or whatever).
  2. OR, (and this is what I might do, to avoid any potential police questions about having a TV up front) buy a computer monitor for this purpose, and have the signal wiring adapted to the level need to drive composite inputs on the computer.
If the original wiring was designed to go into an RF input (such as a TV tuner), it shouldn't be difficult or complicated to adapt.

The computer monitor's power switch could be bypassed and put into always on, thus allowing the original system to trigger it. Or, the monitor could merely be turned on when the vehicle is started, and left on. A monitor, with no signal, will only show a dark screen.

Hope this helps.
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 06:56 PM   #36
Rivet Master
 
Michigander's Avatar
 
2005 30' Land Yacht 30 SL
Oakland County , Michigan
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFixit View Post
I too would like to replace the analog CRT TV in the dash of my Land Yacht with a digital flatscreen, the R&R would be the easy part. What i need to know is this; when i turn the ignition key on the tv becomes a rear view monitor, how would i connect the new tv without losing this function? anyone deal with this situation yet? Thanks, Mark
Somehow, you would have to use the 12v wire that powers the old backup 6" CRT monitor to acitivate an electronic switch that would allow 120v electricity to turn on the new flatscreen. (As mentioned previously, you would also have to bypass the on-off switch of the new flatscreen.)

Also, the camera attached to the rear of the MH would have to be plugged into the new flatscreen tv. Next, the new tv would have to have the correct input selected so that the camera view would be displayed.

Finally, If your were parked and just wanted to watch tv on the new flatscreen, then you would need another separate switch in order to turn on your new tv. This sounds kind of messy, because then you would need some sort of transfer switch like that used with your generator so that you won't fry any of your other electronics. (This is getting very complicated.)

One thing I don't understand is where does the 120v electricity for the new flatscreen come from? I have two ac flatscreens in my MH and neither of them will turn on unless I am hooked up to shore power or have the generator running. In an earlier post, it was mentioned that there is an inverter that supplies 120v to the old CRT tv. I am not sure this is true.

If the MH electrical system cannot turn 12v dc into 120v ac to supply the new flatscreen, then all of this exercise is for naught.
__________________
Bob & Nancy
2005 ASLYG 30 SO
2009 Wrangler Toad
Michigan
Michigander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 09:00 PM   #37
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,220
Images: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by padillab View Post
One thing I don't understand is where does the 120v electricity for the new flatscreen come from? I have two ac flatscreens in my MH and neither of them will turn on unless I am hooked up to shore power or have the generator running. In an earlier post, it was mentioned that there is an inverter that supplies 120v to the old CRT tv. I am not sure this is true.

If the MH electrical system cannot turn 12v dc into 120v ac to supply the new flatscreen, then all of this exercise is for naught.
Post #31, padillab; he told you directly that he has an inverter in the rig. Why would he lie about that?
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:05 AM   #38
Rivet Master
 
Michigander's Avatar
 
2005 30' Land Yacht 30 SL
Oakland County , Michigan
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aage View Post
Post #31, padillab; he told you directly that he has an inverter in the rig. Why would he lie about that?
I didn't mean to come on so strong. Sorry for any hurt feelings. Just nosing around for clarification. I'm no expert on inverters. If you're using 12v dc through an inverter to power a 120v ac tv, how much strain does that put on either the house batteries or the alternator? And, more importantly, can the old CRT tv in the Mr Fixit's MH be turned on when not on shore or generator power? If not, then that's another problem to be solved - how to get power to the new flatscreen while driving.
__________________
Bob & Nancy
2005 ASLYG 30 SO
2009 Wrangler Toad
Michigan
Michigander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:34 AM   #39
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Fort Erie , Ontario
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 185
200 LY TV Refit

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFL View Post
My was TV held in by screws and plastic surround, screws covered with plastic buttons, easy to see front ones but the side two had 3 inch screws with different covers so may have been added by someone else.

My relay is above the motor under the doghouse left side of firewall just to the right of drivers gas pedal foot, but for the fans high speed someone fixed by adding a 30 fuse and wire in front of the radiator.

Will be on the road for the rest of the month testing all my fixes and modification or should I say improvements

Dave
I am in the process of replacing the tube TV in the front. I see that DaveFL has a similar rig as mine and would like to hear from him and any tips on his refit.

Steve
is.chowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 07:54 AM   #40
Rivet Master
 
DaveFL's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,485
Images: 15
Hi Steve,
If I was to do it again I would, but with some of the new sets at 20 inches and 12v instead of a 110v 22 inch, I don't think the extra two inches makes up for the extra inverter I put in to be able to use the set without running the generator or be plugged in. Also added after the first trip a velcro holddown strap across the front to keep it in place, haven't found a satifactory catch for the swing arm, bungees didn't do it. It gives access to the space behind, have used it a couple of times for A/C improvement and the wires behind the dashboard.
__________________

DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rear view tv, motorhome, replace


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'67 Front window screen frame replacement SlvrSt8Steve Windows & Screens 10 11-30-2014 11:32 PM
Front Banana Wrap Replacement Gkiesel Belly Pans & Banana Wraps 5 07-08-2008 06:30 PM
’77 Sovereign Front Window Replacement welld.geo Windows & Screens 0 12-07-2007 10:39 PM
front corner window replacement tinsltootsie Windows & Screens 6 07-14-2006 09:21 PM
top-front skin replacement mlmarch Ribs, Skins & Rivets 5 07-06-2003 11:28 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
×