Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-30-2012, 09:59 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1995 31' Land Yacht
Onalaska , Washington
Smile ..another newbie here..

Hi gang! I guess I better quit lurking around here and introduce myself along with my partner Mickie. I'm Dave, and as you can probably deduce my other RV is a sailboat, moored here in the great Pacific Northwest. After 15 yrs of owning 'Getaway' I think she's revealed most of her secrets to me.
On the other hand, we just bought a '95 Airstream Land Yacht 30 (How could I pass up an RV called Land Yacht)?
We probably paid top dollar for our Airstream, but what the hey... we love her and at our age she's our escape module from winters here in the wet PNW. So far, the dealer put new tires on her before we took delivery, I put 2 new house batteries in her, we had the transmission serviced, front suspension inspected and opted for new bell cranks, drag link, tie rod ends, ball joints, alignment, etc. $5700 later she handles like new!
There doesn't seem to be any evidence of serious water incursion, most things work. The PO put on a Banks System and the Chevy 454 just wants to RUN! 76000 miles on it & it purrs! Also has a 'Steer Safe' thingy on the steering which was explained as 'front tire blow-out control' aid. Anyway, like I said, we're pretty happy with our new GPSYWGN!