Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2018, 05:13 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas
Virgin Questions

Hi there! Newbie here looking at buying a fully renovated 1984 345 or a 1886 325 that needs tlc, although everything is in working order according to current owner. Can anyone tell me if it’s possible the 345 came with no hydraulic jacks, or if they’re all manufactured with leveling jacks? And has anyone ever lived full time in a 345 for an extended period of time? If I buy the fully renovated one I may make it my home for at least a year. If I buy the 325 as a project this would not be the case. Are there any inherent benefits to 345 over 325 other than space or layout? I’m also wondering how long the P30 chassis can go if properly addressed and cared for over 30+ years. I appreciate any feedback. I’ve been reading for days and will continue through process.
Tubbydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 05:55 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1987 34.5' Airstream 345
Menomonee Falls , Wisconsin
Hey,
I lived in my 345 for 6 months in the Dakota oil fields.very comfortable. Do you,and can you work on these things. Buying a restored one would be the way I'd go if you want to go now. But what does restored mean. I got 15 k in mine right now. And I'm not done. Close but not done.
I'd ask him when was the last time the units been out and used. I would personally test everything. Water furnaces, toilet. Etc etc. the under side is where people skimp. Front end parts, u joints transmission, rear end serviced. Brakes. All this stuff cost big money if you don't have the space or tools to do it yourself. If it looks mint, it's probably been kept inside. That's good.