Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Classic Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-12-2005, 02:37 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida
Toad w/ electronic odo?

O.K. I've got the bug...er not yet anyway. But I've been lusting for a car now for some time. Driving an AS as an every day driver will do that to you. I'm looking at the VW Turbo S New Beetle as a possible toad/runabout sports car.
My question to you who know... with an electronic odometer and all four on the ground does the odo clock the towed mileage or not?
Glen Coombe AIR #8416
1984 28' Funeral Coach
Former Rolling Showroom & PuttLab (now party bus)
"I'm not an expert. But I did sleep in an Airstream last night."
GlenCoombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 03:38 PM   #2
RivetAddict

1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Louisville , Kentucky
Glen,
I don't know about the "new" Beetle's. You might check with VW. I know on my "classic" Beetle, I just open the hood and unscrew the cable from the back of the speedo. Very low tech.

S
swebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 03:43 PM   #3
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Glenn, as far as I know, they only register miles when the key is on.
If you need to leave the key in the unlocked position so the front wheels will turn when going around corners, you may have to pull the "gauge" fuse to keep it from registering. The owner's manual of the Beetle should provide this information.
Old 10-12-2005, 04:41 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1972 25' Tradewind
Currently Looking...
McHenry County , Illinois
Vehicle Speed Sensor