Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2015, 11:49 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
Jenniflow's Avatar
 
1982 34' Limited
1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Sausalito , California
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 405
Send a message via Skype™ to Jenniflow
Question Run both a/cs at once?

I suspect this has been addressed somewhere in this voluminous forum, but after a quick search, I didn't find it.

In a 1986 345 moho, is it possible, with the original 30 amps and most of the original wiring, to run both a/cs on shore power? From what I can see, the switch forces you to choose, so I guess you'd have to rewire it somewhat, but is there any combination of possible new a/c units - or even original units - that would work running simultaneously, on shore power? Has anyone done this?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Jenniflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 12:01 PM   #2
Moderator
 
jcanavera's Avatar

 
2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 9,002
Images: 143
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
Airstreams that are wired for 50 amp service can run both. Airsteams with typical 30 amp service are marginal or impossible to safely pull that much power. For example my 15K BTU air conditioner in my Classic can pull almost 20 amps. Add the load of water heater (if I'm using the electric option, the refrigerator (on electric), turn on the microwave, and pop goes the breaker on the campground power pole.

Jack
__________________

__________________
Jack Canavera
STL Mo.
AIR #56
'04 Classic 30' S.O.,'03 GMC Savana 2500,'14 Honda CTX 700
jcanavera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 12:07 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
Jenniflow's Avatar
 
1982 34' Limited
1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Sausalito , California
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 405
Send a message via Skype™ to Jenniflow
Question retrofit dedicated a/c circuit?

That's what I was afraid of.

Has anyone here retrofitted a separate dedicated circuit that could be plugged into a separate 20 amp line, the way some campgrounds have, you know, the 30 amp + the 20 amp plugs? That circuit should go through the walls, though, and taking off the paneling could be a pain in the rear.
__________________
Jenniflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 12:13 PM   #4
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
It seems from the thread pasted below that you don't have to get all the way to the AC unit with the wiring, somewhere there's a separate breaker box for the rear AC that seems (from the discussion) to be supplied from the auto-changeover switch. There's a description of a couple of workarounds in the thread.

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f311...ked-39598.html
__________________
— David

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto — 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 01:02 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
Jenniflow's Avatar
 
1982 34' Limited
1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Sausalito , California
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 405
Send a message via Skype™ to Jenniflow
Thumbs up you found the thread on retrofit a/cs!

Thanks so much! I even tried calling the company that sells the workaround package, Power Solutions, but their phone is disconnected. Maybe they're operating under another name. I'm still looking for them.

If I can't find them, I'll see if we want to pony up the time and money to create a dedicated circuit from scratch, like some of these fine folks. I will report, if we do one or the other.

Thanks!
__________________
Jenniflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 02:59 PM   #6
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
I can run both A/Cs on 30a as long as I shut everything else off including the fridge. I have an ammeter wired into the breaker panel so I can see exactly what the power draw is.
__________________
To learn to see below the surface, you must adjust your altitude
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 03:18 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
Jenniflow's Avatar
 
1982 34' Limited
1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Sausalito , California
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 405
Send a message via Skype™ to Jenniflow
air, no fridge

Well. That is disciplined of you! It would make me nervous to cut it so close and I guess I eat too much. Saves some trouble and causes others. I guess it depends on your priorities.
__________________
Jenniflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 03:32 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
jdalrymple's Avatar
 
2009 27' FB Flying Cloud
1991 35' Airstream 350
Jay , Oklahoma
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,602
On my '91, one must choose front or rear via the wall switch when feeding the coach via the original 30 amp cord reel.

The generator will run both regardless of switch position.

My coach was ordered with an optional 50 shoreline input, and both ACs will run when I connect it. There are two transfer switches involved in this setup. It works well, so I have not jumped in to figure it all out.

David is on the right track, there is a path to supply the rear AC from a seperate 20 amp cord from either the wall switch or the generator transfer switch.


Regards,

JD
__________________
Jeff & Cindy
'09 27FB Flying Cloud
'91 350 LE MH
jdalrymple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 03:52 PM   #9
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,928
Images: 2
You can wire in such a way that you can choose to power one AC separately. You can add a "sub panel" which you can provide power to from 20amp source, if you shut off power to the sub panel from the Main panel.

The "hard" part will be getting the power from outside into the Sub Panel. Do NOT scrimp on the quality....use Marine grade gear. Sure, you can get "SOB" quality, but why?

Then you will have to maintain the discipline to ALWAYS ensure you switch power properly. If you mix the phases you will have a bright flash and maybe a fire.

Now, if you "upgrade" to 50 Amp, it somewhat limits where you can get the 50 Amp power, but you can still connect to 30 Amp and monitor your power use as you do now.
__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 04:55 PM   #10
4 Rivet Member
 
Jenniflow's Avatar
 
1982 34' Limited
1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Sausalito , California
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 405
Send a message via Skype™ to Jenniflow
upgrading in heaven

Hi CWF,
Yes, I would love to upgrade, but I don't think it's in this rig's future. I'll have to think about the switching stuff. It seems that there are a number of ways to go with that, as others and jdalrymple point out.

Thanks!
__________________
Jenniflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 11:56 AM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
SKP46015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 55
I only have one brand new Penquin 1500 AC on my older 94 Excella... BUT... I try not to park ANYwhere I need to use even that ONE for even a day or so...
__________________
Ed
94 30 Ft. Front Kitchen Excella
99 GMC 2500 6.0L Ext.Cab. 8ft Bed

ARE Shell Topper
SKP46015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 12:20 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
DaveFL's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,478
Images: 15
I switched to 50 amps due to living in FL and hate the noise of an a/c overhead and the inconvenience of having to remember to throw the switch in cabinet over the sink before changing to other a/c. Can't say it was costly for me, easy to add up the costs of parts, but finding an electrician capable of doing the switch might be a problem. You will need one 50 amp auto switch instead of the two 30amp switches, a 50 amp shore power cord, 50 amp circuit breaker box that can handle 2 legs of 50 amps, at home it was simple to run 50 amp service plug instead of 30 and increase the circuit breaker and feed wire.

More cg's are supplying 50 but by using a 50 to 30 amp adapter I can still run the two a/c's one at a time without the need for the extra switch in the kitchen cabinet. One other use of 50 amps after a long trip with full sun and motor heat it only takes a few minutes to cool the place down.
__________________
DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 05:34 PM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
GO Bob's Avatar
 
1982 34' Limited
1975 31' Sovereign
Grovetown , Georgia
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
A PO had added a 2nd A/C using a seperate 20 amp cord connecting a seperate breaker box with 1 breaker just below the main box. The wire (outdoor grade 30 amp rv type) runs out by the main line.

Druing high demand I was still trippping the 30 amp so I wired the extra (A/C in rear to the main. then I wire two outlets. One on the main 30 amp and one on the dedacated 20 amp. This way while in a park during High demand The rear A/C can be turned off and the main can still be on high. At home I have 30 amp so I can swap back over or with everything else off run both.
I have only been to 2 or 3 campground that have 50 amp so the two cord system works well for me.
__________________
"Humans get a lot done,not because we're smart, but because we have thumbs so we can make coffee." Flash Rosenburg

"Decaffinated coffee is the devil's blend."
GO Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 05:44 PM   #14
3 Rivet Member
 
GO Bob's Avatar
 
1982 34' Limited
1975 31' Sovereign
Grovetown , Georgia
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKP46015 View Post
I only have one brand new Penquin 1500 AC on my older 94 Excella... BUT... I try not to park ANYwhere I need to use even that ONE for even a day or so...
Not camping were A/C is needed limits camping to 4 months.
__________________

__________________
"Humans get a lot done,not because we're smart, but because we have thumbs so we can make coffee." Flash Rosenburg

"Decaffinated coffee is the devil's blend."
GO Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you run both Air Conditioners with the Genset? Keyair Classic Motorhomes 4 08-26-2011 06:32 PM
How to run both roof air units RoyTabernick Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 05-29-2009 09:59 AM
once upon a midnight dreary, while i ... norbert Off Topic Forum 10 01-17-2004 08:31 AM
Get back to where you once belonged* 83Excella Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 3 07-01-2002 11:06 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.