Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2011, 02:58 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1984 31' Airstream310
College Station , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 64
Rogue 10 gauge wire?

In working behind the dash, I discovered a yellow 10 gauge wire, It is factory installed because it was routed through a eyelit no human could reach. The wire stays hot until you pull the #2 circuit fuse (my book says controll panel) for the house batteries. 1984 Airstream 310. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
pdallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 03:37 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
DaveFL's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,478
Images: 15
PO removed what it was connected to, or A/S prewired for something not installed. I have one behind tv, but I didn't check where mine is fused from, or if it is fused. I was busy removing excess wires somebody didn't want to cut to size. They looselycoiled and stuffed so it looked like a plate of spagetti, it would take an electrician a week to sort and make it look orderly.
__________________

__________________
DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 04:41 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Keyair's Avatar

 
1984 34.5' Airstream 345
Foothill Ranch , California
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,932
Images: 1
Do you have Levelers?
__________________
Keyair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 05:54 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
1984 31' Airstream310
College Station , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 64
Yes!
__________________
pdallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 05:58 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
1984 31' Airstream310
College Station , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 64
I agree Dave. Mine is a mess also,but I still want to know what thry had in mind for the wire!!
__________________
pdallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 06:09 PM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
AirRowan's Avatar
 
1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Key West , Florida
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 166
Glove box light, cb radio and a few othere things. I am in costa rica but will look at mine when i get back. I plan to use it to power the radio so my house batterys drain not the starting when we want music.
__________________
AirRowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 06:15 PM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
AirRowan's Avatar
 
1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Key West , Florida
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 166
I think u are talking about the wire on the bottom right with a green wire nut (why did they use wire nuts?!).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3229747583.png
Views:	79
Size:	906.8 KB
ID:	131633  
__________________
AirRowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 06:34 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
1982 28' Airstream 280
Redwood City , California
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,735
On my '82 280, I have two 10 gauge yellow wires. One is powered when ignition is on and the other is powered by the house batteries. I have stereo, CB, etc. Hooked up to the powered from house batteries so as not to drain engine battery.
__________________
http://projectupdraft.com/airstream

"We are free to go where we wish and to be what we are"
Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagall
dadstoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 08:29 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
1984 31' Airstream310
College Station , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 64
Really like the idea off connecting radio, gps to the house batteries. Anybody think of a downside to that?

Thanks for all the suggestions!
__________________
pdallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 09:38 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
1982 28' Airstream 280
Redwood City , California
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdallas
Really like the idea off connecting radio, gps to the house batteries. Anybody think of a downside to that?

Thanks for all the suggestions!
I don't drain house batteries when not in use since master house batt switch turns all off. Have to reprogram stereo each time I use MH and turn batteries back on, but no big deal to me
__________________
http://projectupdraft.com/airstream

"We are free to go where we wish and to be what we are"
Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagall
dadstoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 07:27 AM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
1984 31' Airstream310
College Station , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 64
Dads:

As far as I can tell this particular wire stays hot as long as the coach batteries are connected. When would the system reset?

Thanks,

PD
__________________
pdallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:07 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
1982 28' Airstream 280
Redwood City , California
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdallas
Dads:

As far as I can tell this particular wire stays hot as long as the coach batteries are connected. When would the system reset?

Thanks,

PD
My two six volt house batteries (in series to make 12 volts) are connected to a master on/off switch. From there it goes to a terminal block which splits to a) a solenoid for the engine battery assist, b) a circuit to the house 12 volt fuse panel and c) a circuit that goes forward to the alternator isolator and power feed for accessories such as a radio. I have no circuits, accessories etc connected directly to the batteries. When I shut off the main house battery master switch (which is located in the entrance door stair well on my 280) the house batts are completely disconnected from everything. At this point there is no power to the stereo. When I switch batt back on, I have to program the stereo again. I have also installed a knife switch on the engine batt so that I can disconnect it as well when not in use.
__________________
http://projectupdraft.com/airstream

"We are free to go where we wish and to be what we are"
Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagall
dadstoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 07:53 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
1984 31' Airstream310
College Station , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 64
Thanks for the comments Dadstoy. Quite a bit of difference in the two system. 84 310 has two large 12v coach batteries and to my knowledge, I don't have a master switch. I probably can pull a fuse? Anyway, still wanting feedback on wire, but really like the idea of getting radio/gps on that circuit because most of the time (when parked) I'll be on shore power so I won't have to be worried about draining batteries. Also have toyed with the idea of putting tag axle on that circuit?
__________________

__________________
pdallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where does this heavy black wire go? malconium Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 05-31-2011 02:07 PM
One Wire Running Lights---Effects on Grounding tinbender Lights - Interior & Exterior 7 04-18-2011 08:22 AM
Burnt wire on my univolt MonaxLisa Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 11 03-23-2011 01:31 PM
Recommended 110V Wire Gauge SilverHoot Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 13 02-28-2011 10:42 PM
Running Lights LED - How do I route the wire? AirHome Lights - Interior & Exterior 6 02-20-2011 08:15 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.