Old 08-04-2015, 10:14 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1979 28' Airstream Excella 28
Brooklyn , New York
New Aistream Excella, fridge question

I'm brand new to this motorhome, literally bought it today! I am wondering the best way to operate the fridge while on the road. What is the best workflow? Should I keep it plugged in the whole time or run it on gas? I'm guessing all of you have a great process that I should follow. Thanks in advance!
Name:   ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1438701283.262773.jpg
Views: 378
Size:  131.2 KB

Old 08-04-2015, 10:48 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1982 31' Airstream 310
champaign , Illinois
Welcome to the insanity,
I run my fridge on propane while on the road, I think most people do.

As far as keeping it "plugged in", if you are talking about keeping the rig plugged in all the time while parked then it depends. If youve got the original "converter" in the rig then you dont want to keep it plugged in all the time. The original converter will continue to charge your "coach" batteries ALL the time and will eventually boil them dry and ruin the batteries. Changing out the converter is probably one of the first modifications that people do to these old coaches. Installing a mult-stage converter that senses when your coach batteries are at full charge is well worth the $150 or so that you would invest in the new converter.

The converter is the device that converts 120volt ac to 12 volt dc. Your coach has both 120 and 12 volt systems. Basically your regular household type outlets, your air conditioner(s), and your fridge (which usually has the capability to run on propane or 120volt) are powered by your 120 volt system. Everything else, your lighting, furnace, suspension air compressor, and control boards etc. run off 12volt.

Good luck with your beauty there. Ask questions here on the forum, there is a multitude of folks willing to help out.

Mike

Old 08-04-2015, 11:02 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1979 28' Airstream Excella 28
Brooklyn , New York