Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Classic Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-02-2012, 09:44 AM   #1

1982 31' Airstream 310
Groveland , Massachusetts
How to soften my p30 ride?

Hello everyone, My p30 is jarring the fillings out of my teeth! Rear airbags are good and all shocks are new. Everytime I hit a small bump it bangs in the front and the back. My hubby says it's the way it is. He calls it a bread truck chassis. Sorry but I'm just not buying that! Being a school bus driver I do all the driving while he sits back with his feet on the dash. lol. He's got it made. So here I am with my own air forums account to find out for sure, can anything be done to soften the ride?
moonflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 09:48 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Make sure your tires are not overinflated. Running tires at max psi with less than the max load on them will make them ride like they are made of wood. ALL of the little bumps are abosorbed by the tires not the suspension.

Perry
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:05 AM   #3
Commercial Member

2016 27' International
Currently Looking...
Wilton , California
Welcome to the Airforums Moonflower!

I wish my wife would drive while I have my feet up on the dash. Your hubby has it made. He is right about the bread truck comment lol. Have you had it inspected? I remember seeing one that the front suspension was nearly on the rubbers stops. The air pressure comment is good too. Does it feel like the jarring is coming from the rear? Air suspension working?

Good luck.

Vinnie

https://www.facebook.com/VinniesNort...ir?ref=tn_tnmn
Airslide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:15 AM   #4