Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2006, 09:57 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
Springfield , Ohio
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
Carrier low profile A/C questions

I'm very interested in replacing the OEM Delta TX roof airs with the new carrier low profile units. I'd also like to be able to run them both at the same time. Does anyone know if it's possible to power two units with 13.8 amps max draw with the Onan 6.5? I'm unable to find specs for the old Colemans.
__________________

__________________
JKWoodrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 11:46 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
noiva's Avatar
 
Chesapeake , Virginia
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 626
Images: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKWoodrow
I'm very interested in replacing the OEM Delta TX roof airs with the new carrier low profile units. I'd also like to be able to run them both at the same time. Does anyone know if it's possible to power two units with 13.8 amps max draw with the Onan 6.5? I'm unable to find specs for the old Colemans.
JK,

It's definitely possible. Pat370 has a 370LE, and he did some minor modifications at the electric box in the generator compartment to do just that. Contact him. He'll be glad to tell you how to rewire to do that. As far as the specs for the Colemans, look at Dean's literature. He bought his unit from a real fine guy who kept all the papers.

Best,
__________________

__________________
Tim
1987 30P
2003 Suburban 2500
AIR # 5648
noiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 10:25 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 88
No problem.

I run both Coleman A/C units from my Onan 6.5 all of the time. It works fine. The Generator has one 20 amp circuit and one 30 amp circuit. The A/C units are wired so that each is on a separate generator output circuit. The new low profile units draw even less current so should be no problem. Remember you need a lot more current to start the A/C units then to run them.
__________________
Howard Lefkowitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 11:34 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
noiva's Avatar
 
Chesapeake , Virginia
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 626
Images: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howard Lefkowitz
I run both Coleman A/C units from my Onan 6.5 all of the time. It works fine. The Generator has one 20 amp circuit and one 30 amp circuit. The A/C units are wired so that each is on a separate generator output circuit. The new low profile units draw even less current so should be no problem. Remember you need a lot more current to start the A/C units then to run them.

Howard,

Did you do the wiring in the generator compartment to set up each AC unit on a separate circuit? I know there are two circuits outputting from the generator, and the trick is to do a little wiring alteration so you can have each of the two (20A, and 30A) plugged from the two AC units at the same time. As I've mentioned before, Pat370 has done that with his 370LE, and is more than willing to explain it to anyone interested. Anyone interested should PM him. He's a big help.

Best,
__________________
Tim
1987 30P
2003 Suburban 2500
AIR # 5648
noiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 01:44 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 88
I Have only run both when operating from the Onan generator. I am familiar with the wiring that allows you to separate the two circuits and run them from two 20 amp circuits. I have been using a different approach when hooked up to 110 VAC. I have a pulser system I purchased from Camping World a number of years ago. It allows you to turn on both A/C units in pulse mode. This runs each one in turn which does a pretty fair job of cooling the entire coach. I have a 345 and have never had the need to run them both simultaneously.
__________________
Howard Lefkowitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 02:03 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
noiva's Avatar
 
Chesapeake , Virginia
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 626
Images: 46
Howard,

I misunderstood what you were doing. I never needed both simultaneously either, but there are areas of the country where people do need to do that, and have accomplished it by altering the wiring in the generator compartment so that the rear unit is actually plugged into the 20 amp side of the output. They can then manually plug in that circuit whenever they need to run both from the generator. This was only for use with the generator. The only way to do that when hooked up to 110 VAC was to have a land connection with two SEPARATE outlets of (typically) 30 amp and 20 amp. Of course, it's important to be sure the land box isn't wired by splitting a single 30 amp input into two circuits. Anyway, thanks for the clarification.

Best,




Quote:
Originally Posted by Howard Lefkowitz
I Have only run both when operating from the Onan generator. I am familiar with the wiring that allows you to separate the two circuits and run them from two 20 amp circuits. I have been using a different approach when hooked up to 110 VAC. I have a pulser system I purchased from Camping World a number of years ago. It allows you to turn on both A/C units in pulse mode. This runs each one in turn which does a pretty fair job of cooling the entire coach. I have a 345 and have never had the need to run them both simultaneously.
__________________
Tim
1987 30P
2003 Suburban 2500
AIR # 5648
noiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 10:10 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
Springfield , Ohio
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
Running both A/C units

Thanks for the responses. My unit has a large switch (in a cabinet over the stove) that allows you to select front A/C, rear A/C, microwave, open circuit or maybe one other thing - individually. No option for coupling both A/C units.
Any suggestions?

__________________
JKWoodrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 10:38 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
noiva's Avatar
 
Chesapeake , Virginia
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 626
Images: 46
Running both AC units

JK,

Good to see your name on the Forum! How's the 345 doing?

If you'll drop PAT370 an email, he'll give you his phone number. You can then call him, and he'll give you the details of how to do this. He's done it so he can run both with the gen set, or with land power if the hookup box has two circuits, i.e. 30A and 20A, or 50A.

Tell Dean I'd love to hear something from him.

Best,




Quote:
Originally Posted by JKWoodrow
Thanks for the responses. My unit has a large switch (in a cabinet over the stove) that allows you to select front A/C, rear A/C, microwave, open circuit or maybe one other thing - individually. No option for coupling both A/C units.
Any suggestions?

__________________

__________________
Tim
1987 30P
2003 Suburban 2500
AIR # 5648
noiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thetford Toilet Repair??? Galaxy Low Profile ViewRVs Sinks, Showers & Toilets 11 05-03-2010 04:27 PM
Experiences with Carrier Air V installation? Sojourner Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 10 04-29-2009 08:52 AM
A/C replacement? VWMARTINEZ Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 6 03-09-2007 03:14 AM
1971 Armstrog A/C uwe Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 08-06-2002 06:08 PM
Mediocre A/C Chuck Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 4 07-07-2002 08:52 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.