Old 08-30-2006, 05:35 PM   #1
76 Silver Argosy

1975 26' Argosy 26
Fallbrook , Southern California
Send a message via Yahoo to abridges01
Wind screen sealing and veneer replacement

Hi Folks:

OK, we pick up our 'new' 1975 26' Argosy MH this weekend, and needless to say, we're pretty pumped.

There's a fair bit of work that needs to be done, though nothing terribly urgent, though the final inspection this weekend may reveal otherwise. There are some areas I know are in need of attention, and it is these which I could really benefit from you guys' experience. These areas include:

1. Wind screen leaks badly and has been badly 'gunked' in several areas, specifically at the top, should I consider replacing the gasket or is there another good, long term fix?

2. Onan 4.0BF 4KW generator has no output. Apparently it runs fine, but has no voltage output. I am new to the world of RV electrics, but quite content to pull the unit out and work on it if it is worth the effort, or are the advantage of newer (Honda seems a popular, if expensive, option) units so great I would be wasting my time?

3. Retrimming the interior: At the risk of being branded a heretic, we're not that bothered with sticking with the original wood veneer and fabric front on the lockers. Has anyone tried replacing the veneer with something a little easier on the eye such as the aluminum they use on the latest AS trailers? As you can see below, the previous owner has done a nice job with the upholstery, so we want to keep the 70's feel but replace the trim with something a little less tatty.