Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Argosy Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-25-2009, 11:29 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1978 28' Argosy 28
Monterey , California
Reasonable RV Mechanic Rates

So, given today's economy, what do you think is a reasonable RV mechanic's rate for an old Argosy MH on the West Coast? I'm talking to a guy charging around $100-125 an hour.

donlandis
Don Landis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 12:01 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2018 30' Classic
Austin , Texas
I'm a service writer at a big rig repair shop, we also do repairs on RVs.
But no body work. Our hourly rate is $85.00. Call around and check in your area. But keep in mind the experience of the mechanics, if they don't know what they're doing it won't matter what they charge per hour.
ASwifey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 02:16 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
$90/hour in Tucson...
AirForums #21900
PastPrez, 4CU/WBCCI
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 04:54 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Louisburg , North Carolina
Cost of doing business

You will find that a business will always charge the going rate of the area that is needed to pay the overhead and make a reasonable profit.