Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-20-2014, 02:19 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Bellevue , Washington
Towing mirror: can see following cars directly behind the trailor?

This is my 1st trailer, and I have no experience in towing before.

Recently I bought a towing mirror: Amazon.com: Fit System 3891 Deluxe Universal Clip-on Trailer Towing Mirror: Automotive, I was expecting to use it to see the cars behind my 16' bambi.

However, I'm not sure if it's my bambi too "fat" then my TV(durango), or technically this kind if mirror doesn't feature the ability to cover the directly behind area. I basically can't see nothing of my own line behind my trailer.

Any suggestion on the towing mirrors to let me see what's going on behind me?
shockfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 03:28 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2011 30' Classic
2007 25' International CCD
1993 32' Excella
Largo , Florida
With all due respect. Your side view mirrors will never be able to see behind your AS. They are designed to see along side of your trailer. The extension is so that you can compensate for the additional width of the trailer. There ae many rear mounted cameras that can accomplish seeing behind the trailer.

>>ron<<
Old 10-20-2014, 04:44 AM   #3
Rivet Monster

1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
Think of the size of the blind spot behind a semi truck and trailer. You have a similar one. The only way to see DIRECTLY behind your trailer is to use a rear mounted camera of some sort.

Towing requires a different mindset and skill set than regular driving. One of those being more aware of traffic coming up on you. They will "hide" behind the trailer.

Aaron
WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 05:31 AM   #4
Restorations done right
Commercial Member

1962 26' Overlander