Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-05-2017, 06:41 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Sheridan , California
Rivet Ed

So we took a little trip with our Sport this week ( on a gravel road ) and got our first rivet pop. An interior rivet just above the galley counter top popped off. I've never worked with rivets before and realize that and education is needed if I'm going to work on an Airstream. I tried to replace the rivet with a #4 - 3/8" sheet metal screw but it would only screw in about an 1/8" so the other end of the rivet must still be in there.
Where do I go to research Airstream rivets and how to replace them properly? Looks like there are two types on our Airstream, small pop rivets on the inside and big pan head rivets on the exterior. Our dealer is about 400 miles away so I need to do minor work myself.
Thanks for the help.
Airabel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2017, 07:16 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1955 22' Safari
Laredo , Texas
Simple tools

Go to Home Depot or any local hardware store and buy a simple hand rivet gun (tool) and several sizes of rivets. Drill out the broken rivet and replace with a new one. Keep the rivets and gun in your traveling toolkit.
55AS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2017, 07:31 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2017 26' Flying Cloud
Huntsville , Alabama
Interesting.
So there's nothing "special" about the rivets?
Just good ol' Home Depot type will do?
This is good to know.
Old 07-05-2017, 08:36 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
Quote:
Originally Posted by MWBishop View Post
Interesting.
So there's nothing "special" about the rivets?
Just good ol' Home Depot type will do?
This is good to know.

I would recommend aluminum only rivets. I got mine from vintagetrailersupply.