Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Bambi and Bambi II > 2005 and newer - Bambi all models
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-19-2019, 04:47 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2020 16' Bambi
Patuxent River , MD
Refrigerator (refer) circuit question

Newbie here - 2020 Bambi 16RB, purchased just about 2 months ago.
Here's my question: Why does my refrigerator run with the circuit turned off (5th, bottom circuit switch)? I have been tripping a circuit where I store my Bambi and I was about to switch off the main "kill" switch, when I noticed I could hear the refrig. running. I checked the circuit panel and verified the switch is off. I mentioned it to my wife and she asked if the battery could be powering the refrig. separate from the electrical circuit. So, I thought I'd ask the community for some help here. My assumption is either she's right or it's possible the circuit panel could be labeled incorrectly.
PorterSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2019, 08:19 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2020 23' Flying Cloud
2019 22' Sport
Sebastian , Florida
By "hear it running", she heard the gas burning firing? In that mode, the fridge uses DC power protected by a Buss type fuse only to run the igniter, control board and inside light.
On our 22FB, there's also a fan to circulate air over the coils. It is turned on with a switch on the side of the fridge. I'm pretty sure the fan is also DC.
On a 2 way fridge (A-S specs indicate that's what you have) operating in electric mode, the heating element is powered by AC circuit, which is probably what you mention having turned off.
On a 3 way fridge, the DC to the heating element draws a battery down very fast. That mode is typically only used by someone going down the road who doesn't want to burn propane.