Old 05-28-2014, 09:02 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
Houston , Texas
need help on mobile therapy idea

Hello everyone,

I am a psychologist and overlander (Land Cruiser 100 series owner and enthusiast). I'm doing some research to determine how feasible it would be to convert an airstream into a mobile office to conduct therapy in. As you might imagine, therapy sessions can be quite soul bearing and the vulnerability of this process requires an environment that is safe, secure, trusting, and confidential. Even in more traditional office spaces, sound proofing an office requires work. I am wondering about how insulated a newer model airstream would be to make this feasible. With very limited knowledge on Airstreams, I'm making the assumption that a newer model (2005ish and up) would be more insulated? This is where I could use some of your experience. Could you hold a conversation inside with ease without others readily hearing you from the outside? Is the A/C system noisy to the point of distraction?

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences and thoughts with me. It's appreciated as I try to break down barriers to treatment, do what I love, and get outside of the box a bit.

dr.overland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 09:12 AM   #2
Rivet Master
1970 23' Safari
2005 30' Classic
1986 31' Sovereign
Lorain , Ohio
I don't believe you are correct with an assumption that newer models are more soundproof.

The AC system is loud and distracting.

I would lean more towards an airstream that has upholstered walls to provide some absorption.

Since your a rich doctor (ha!), I suggest you be the first to invest in the new Classic! It has ducted AC which should be more quiet. It comes with power recliners in the sofa. I suspect you could use the dinette as an "office" or change it out to something more suitable.

Let me know when you open up business. Many folks suggest I need help.

Proud Member of the Wally Byam Airstream Club #24260