Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2016, 12:16 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2016 16' Sport
Longwood , Florida
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 9
15 Amp Shore Power

We just purchased a 2016 Sport 16. During our our orientation, the dealer said we can plug into a 15 amp circuit at home and run the AC unit if we had the furnace and refrigerator turned off. Does this sound right? Has anyone tried it?
__________________

__________________
fdelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 12:47 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member
 
westernjeep401's Avatar
 
2014 28' International
Marietta , Georgia
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 208
Check your owner's manuals (one for the Dometic AC should be in there) for the spec sheet on current draw (amperage) for the unit.

That disclosed, I wouldn't.
__________________

__________________
14 Serentiy 28' "Built by British Leyland"
74 IH 100 Travelall Custom "Sal"
75 IH 200 Pickup 4x4 "Hal"

#5261
westernjeep401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 01:17 PM   #3
Overland Adventurer
 
AtomicNo13's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
2009 34' Panamerica
Telluride , Colorado
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,731
All thing being reasonable and normal, it should work fine!
__________________
AtomicNo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 01:28 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,000
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
I would not do it. You could slowly cook the outlet you are plugged in. Along with the 15 to 30 amp adaptor. Not to mention causing permanent damage to the A/C.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 01:46 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
AWCHIEF's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7,802
Images: 33
I had a licensed electrician install a 30 amp line at my home to code. My AC would not run on 15 amp. Nice to have full hookups available at the house.
__________________
MICHAEL

Do you know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says "You know that thing that you just did? Don't do that."
AWCHIEF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 01:48 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
A W Warn's Avatar
 
2000 25' Safari
1999 34' Excella
Davidson County, NC , Highlands County, FL
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdelle View Post
We just purchased a 2016 Sport 16. During our our orientation, the dealer said we can plug into a 15 amp circuit at home and run the AC unit if we had the furnace and refrigerator turned off. Does this sound right? Has anyone tried it?
The AC manufacturer's spec's says to use a 20 amp circuit, minimum.
The AC might start and run on a 15 amp, but sooner or later damage will occur.

But, before you decide what to do, check the breaker for the receptacle where you plan to plug in, it could be 20 amp. The receptacles in my garage are on a 20 amp breaker. If you use a 20 amp receptacle you must keep the power cord short and/or use the correct gauge wire. Do not use extension cords that are to light.

I do this occasionally on my 25' when I have a task to do inside the trailer on a hot day. I do not leave the unit running for hours and hours. I use one 25' 10 ga extension cord connected to the power cord on my trailer.

Careful though! If the receptacle is to distant from the breaker/power supply or the receptacle itself is not properly rated or it the adapter is not properly rated, there may be too much current loss even with a heavy cord.

add edit:
You will need to turn off the refrigerator and the converter. The furnace is 12v, so not an issue (and it should not be running when air condition is need).
Instead of worrying about individual appliances, I turn off all of the breakers except two, the main and AC.
__________________
A W Warn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 02:24 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,172
Is it an 11000 unit. If so it might run on 15 amp probably 20.
__________________
avionstream is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 02:48 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
mimiandrews's Avatar
 
1966 22' Safari
Weatherford , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,341
It's perfectly OK as long as you're not trying to use more than 15 amps, and as long as you use an adequately sized (10 or 12 gauge) extension cord, that is not too long.

So, if you need some lights to work, or maybe to pre-cool the fridge on electric before a trip, you'll be OK. If you try to run the big stuff--air conditioner being the worst offender--you'll overheat something. Hopefully, the house circuit breaker trips before any real damage is done, but an AC will try to run with insufficient current and burn itself out.

All electrical equipment should have a label on it somewhere that tells you how many watts the thing needs. A watt is a volt times an amp, so 15 amps x 120 volts gives you 1800 watts at best. Motor driven appliances require much more current to start them than they do once running. Treat the power you have available like a bank account, and don't overspend.

What I'm trying to encourage here is called load management Get familiar with the load each item in your trailer puts on the electrical connection. Know what you can run with 15 amps, with 20 amps, and with the full 30 amps available. Some load managing is still needed even with 30 amp power. AC, plus microwave usually doesn't work. Hair dryers are another heavy load item.
__________________
mimiandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 03:04 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,679
Images: 12
Your first consideration is what is on the circuit in the house, how long is the run to the panel, and what type of wire is feeding the receptacle.

You are about as close to the edge as you could get and no dealer ever told the truth.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 03:04 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
A W Warn's Avatar
 
2000 25' Safari
1999 34' Excella
Davidson County, NC , Highlands County, FL
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,405
This is a link to your AC specs. It clearly tells you the power requirements.

http://www.dometic.com/QBankFiles3/E...I-AC_17729.pdf
__________________
A W Warn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 05:00 PM   #11
Rivet Master

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdelle View Post
We just purchased a 2016 Sport 16. During our our orientation, the dealer said we can plug into a 15 amp circuit at home and run the AC unit if we had the furnace and refrigerator turned off. Does this sound right? Has anyone tried it?
Welcome to the forum!

Please ask the dealer to put the 15 amp circuit being OK in writing.

Please read the Dometic specs brochure just posted by A W Warn, which says a 20 amp circuit is required.

Using a 15 amp circuit, assuming the circuit breaker does not trip, would harm your A/C over the long run IMO, even if you use the correct #10 or #12 extension cord.
__________________
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 11:16 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
m.hony's Avatar
 
2013 30' Classic
Greenwood , Mississippi
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11,331
I tried running the a/c on a regular wall socket.
It fried the receptacle.
I have since had an electrician install a 50 amp plug and shut-off.
__________________
2013 Classic 30 Limited
2007 Silver Toyota Tundra Crew Max Limited 5.7 iForce
2006 Vivid Black Harley-Davidson Road King Classic
1999 Black Nissan Pathfinder LE
TAC #MS-10
WBCCI #1811, Region 6, Unit 56
Airforums #70955
m.hony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 12:54 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
2016 30' Classic
Rocklin , California
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 70
If you really think about it ,installing the correct amps is cheap insurance on your investment. Also, the purchase of a surge protector is a really good idea. Consider the cost of replacement of the electrical systems in your trailer. It is a no brainier.
__________________
Gamehawkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 01:15 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
AnnArborBob's Avatar
 
2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Chelsea , Michigan
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,718
Images: 12
The AC unit will run on a 15 amp circuit and will slowly but surely destroy itself. Perhaps not in an hour or two, but you are inevitably damaging your AC unless you are hooked up to a 30 amp circuit (actually, a 25 amp circuit would probably be fine but they do not exist.) Ignore your dealer.
__________________

__________________
Bob Martel
WBCCI# 5766
AnnArborBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore power but no battery power RogerLG Lights - Interior & Exterior 6 09-28-2012 01:53 PM
shore power/battery power wiring NavyDavesCvl Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 0 10-13-2010 06:32 PM
Power surging from shore power in my Excella 500? NVDeputy Lights - Interior & Exterior 4 10-09-2009 11:52 AM
Shore power and battery power problems jfremstad Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 05-03-2007 08:23 AM
Converting from 30 amp to 50 amp shore power blkmagikca General Motorhome Topics 8 03-28-2006 01:20 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.