Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2014, 10:52 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2013 19' International
Cottage Grove , Minnesota
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Using "auto" mode on fridge, gas kicks on when traveling

Hi! We have a 2012 Sport 16. We use auto mode on fridge when hooked up to electric, and it does not trigger pilot. When we unhook to travel, it goes for gas vs. the battery. We hear the pilot attempting to light several times; no go. So, we end up shutting off while traveling. Shouldn't it switch to battery? Is this normal? And, how long should it attempt to light before it actually does? Gas works just fine in stove/heater... so that is not the problem. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
jlongtine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 10:59 AM   #2
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,190
It should light with no problem.
The first time it light may take a few attempts in order tompurge the air from the line.
If after several attempts to light, it does not, you should have the fridge looked at by a qualified technician. It is possible there is anblockage keeping the gas from getting to the burner.
__________________

__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 11:03 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
carver 1's Avatar
 
2011 30' Classic
2007 25' International CCD
1993 32' Excella
Largo , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
Images: 30
Check to see that you are gettng gas to the Fridge. When you are on auto you are on AC . Unless your Fridge is different than mine there is no 12 Volt option (battery). I don't know weather you can remove the outside access and check to see if the Pizo is appropriately located with your model. Good luck.

Fair winds,

>>ron<<
__________________
2015 GMC Denali 2500, 4x4, Duramax diesel, Topper, Pro Pride 3 P, Sendel 16" with Michelin LTs, one Yellow Labrador Retriever (AS security)
carver 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 11:15 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
It should change over from 120 volt to Propane when the 120 volt supply is disconnected. Due to air in the lines sometimes it takes a few minutes for the burner to light but the process is automatic and I think if you just leave it alone, it may work fine. Try that anyway. It will lock out automatically if it cannot light, so there is no danger in leaving it on. If you get to your destination and there has been no cooling, you will need the unit serviced.

There is no pilot light on the refrigerator. When it calls for cooling the spark lighter is activated and the gas valve is electrically opened. The spark then lights the gas and then is turned off when that happens "proving" to the circuit board that the flame has been established. If the flame goes out prior to the unit being cooled enough, the spark re appears to re light the burner. When the thermostat says it is cold enough in the box, the circuit board shuts the gas valve off and the lighting mechanism, until the thermostat says "too warm in here" and starts the process again.
__________________
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 11:19 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
Commercial Member
 
acstokes's Avatar
 
2009 30' Classic
Melbourne, FL , Searsport, ME
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 309
Unless you have a 3-way refer, there is no 12 volt cooling capability and you only have AC and propane. On Auto, the default is AC unless AC is unavailable then it will switch to propane. 2-way refers are far more common than 3-way so are you sure you even have 12v capability?

Next, when you are stationary does your propane work? If not, you need to troubleshoot that. If your refer works on propane when stationary but not when traveling, then it may be blowing out. Can you be more specific regarding if/when propane works and when it doesn't?
__________________
Fred Stokes
RV Rearview Camera Systems, LLC
WBCCI #2810
acstokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 11:20 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,809
Images: 12
Most likely there is are in the gas line and the pilot orifice is very small and will take for ever to pass gas. Take a wrench and crack the flare at the gas valve till you smell gas tighten and try to light.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 08:00 AM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
2013 19' International
Cottage Grove , Minnesota
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
My 1st post and crazy helpful, thanks all! I get why forums are so popular . My husband verified we do not have a battery option, our last camper did.. So threw us off. Trying your suggestions now..


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
jlongtine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 08:39 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
AWCHIEF's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,135
Images: 33
When I first picked up my new to me trailer it took several attempts to get the frig to switch over to gas automatically. I do not think it had been run on gas for some time. Now it appears to switch over automatically on the first try. I would guess it had air in the lines or even a spider web or two.
__________________
MICHAEL

Do you know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says "You know that thing that you just did? Don't do that."
AWCHIEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 10:02 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
lsbrodsky's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB International
Trent Woods , North Carolina
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,687
also, according to the manual, it will try to light for 45 seconds and lockout. You then have cycle the off-on to get it to try again.
Larry
__________________
lsbrodsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 11:03 AM   #10
jm2
Rivet Master
 
jm2's Avatar
 
2002 25' Safari
1977 20' Argosy 20
northern valley , new jersey
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 530
when our gas appliances (refrigerator, range / oven, furnace, water heater) have not run for a while, we have the same issue with the refrigerator lighting up on gas.

we find that taking a moment to light up the three range burners seems to help, apparently by "filling" some or all of the gas supply lines, first.

ymmv.
__________________
Joseph & Gabrielle

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication - Leonardo da Vinci.

WBCCI 2087 - AIR 3144 - TAC-NJ2

http://defendwally.org/
jm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 11:32 AM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
spenfolder's Avatar

 
2006 16' International CCD
Salt Lake City , Utah
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 269
Images: 3
I have same problem if I run out of propane in both tanks before a refill. I have to turn the fridge "off" and back on again a couple of times to clear the air out of the lines.

Stan
Salt Lake City
__________________
Stan
Salt Lake City
spenfolder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 12:02 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
terryV's Avatar
 
2002 31' Classic
Currently Looking...
Monroe , Iowa
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 649
I have found that if I light the burners on the stove first thing after turning gas on at the tanks, the fridge and the water heater (on gas) have no problem lighting right away.
__________________
terryV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 04:43 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsbrodsky View Post
also, according to the manual, it will try to light for 45 seconds and lockout. You then have cycle the off-on to get it to try again.
Larry
True. I get that sometimes. With the fridge doors open, you can really hear when the flame WHOOSHES on and you know you're good to go.
__________________
SteveSueMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 10:25 AM   #14
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 22' Interstate
Costa Mesa , California
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Most refers are 2 way (no 12v) rather than 3 way (with 12v). I run my refer 24/7 when driving, camping or just parked so I am always ready to go.
I have a 110w solar panel with about 800amp-hour AGM house batteries. I can't run my refer on 12v so I use the automatic ceiling vent fan to keep the interior from getting too hot so my refer uses less propane. With fan off I go through 5.6 gallons propane every 2-3 weeks and with fan on low with thermostat set around 85 the propane lasts 4-6 weeks depending on temp (normally about 85-90 during day and 70-75 at night).
No option to upgrade a 2way to 3way without replacing entire unit from what I have been told.
__________________

__________________
Option7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C runs cold, kicks out breaker werpknarly Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 18 08-05-2012 06:51 AM
The Do's and Don'ts of Auto Traveling!!! rideair Off Topic Forum 1 12-22-2009 05:58 PM
Get your kicks on Route 66 Skinnyfish Airstream "In the News" 7 10-17-2006 12:48 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.