Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-02-2012, 06:41 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

gainesville , Florida
Refrigerator check lite on gas

hi,
i'm new to rv's and my 2008 airstream refrigerator wont seem to go into gas mode. it keeps getting a check lite. i smell gas at the outside access panel. i've checked the fuses and they are good. any ideas. also is it ok to smell gas at all when you open the access panel? thanx
stuartkaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 06:48 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1997 34' Limited
1970 27' Overlander
South of Atlanta , Georgia
Our check light comes on if we haven't used it for some time. I find lighting the cook top pulls gas into the lines, then the fridge works fine.

I don't think you should smell gas at the panel. That indicates you either have a leak, or you have enough gas in the lines (referencing the first paragraph) which isn't igniting. This means you may have an ignition problem.
2009 Ford F150 5.4L
ProPride hitch with 1400# bars

AIR 41028
TAC GA-8
WBCCI 10199
Past President Southeastern Camping Unit (12)
Aviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 06:52 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member

gainesville , Florida
yes, that kind of confirms i might have an ignition problem. i'll lite the cooktop and check any way. thank you very much. if that fixes it i'll let you know.
stuart
Old 01-02-2012, 07:00 AM   #4
RLS
Rivet Master

2004 25' Classic
Prescott , Arizona
It does take a few tries sometimes after not being used for awhile. I turn the gas on and wait a few minutes before turning the fridge on. Also, you can go out to the access door right after turning it on and hear if it is trying to light buy hearing it sparking.
AIR #30685