Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-01-2012, 09:23 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Waltham , Massachusetts
Newbie with propane problem

Hello Airstreamers:
I should let you know first that I am new to the RV world and in particular to the Airstream crowd. I just got an 84 Limited 34" and I am unable to get the Frig and Hot Water to fire up.

Both try to auto lite, but both don't seem to be getting propane. The roadside gas appliances work fine.

Frig works on electric.
Both bottles recently filled.

Thanks,
Tom
Tom Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 09:47 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Hello Tom. Welcome to the forums!

Can you get your stovetop burners to light? Use a match if needed. That's the easiest way to tell if you have propane getting past the regulator -- and regulators can get old. Most of us start the stovetop burners for a moment when we've just refilled our tanks and there is any question of how much propane is in the lines. The stovetop uses plenty of gas and this fills up the lines best.

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 09:55 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1968 28' Ambassador
Cedaredge , Colorado
Sometimes there are shutoff Valves in the line before the fridge and hot water tank. There is one before my hot water tank. Follow the lines underneath from the tanks to the fridge and hot water tank to see if there is one.

May you have at least one sunny day, and a soft chair to sit in..

2008 5.7 L V8 Sequoia
AIR # 31243
WBCCI # 6987
FOUR CORNERS UNIT
purman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 11:11 AM   #4
Roadtrain O--O~(--ooo--)

2000 34' Limited