Old 03-07-2014, 03:11 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1966 22' Safari
tucson , Arizona
new LP lines

Newbie here! Dumb question on the way......I'm restoring a "66" Safari and wonder if I should run new LP lines under my new floor and not under the belly pan. Also, instead of copper lines why not the LP rubber ones? Aside from being able to get to them down the road. Frankly, exposed LP lines connected to my belly pan seem like problem waiting to happen.

Old 03-07-2014, 04:58 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2008 34' Classic S/O
Common Sense , Texas
There's a reason those lines are run under the belly pan and not inside of it, and that is the code as I understand it. The code says there will be no connections other than the terminal connections inside the trailer. And, if the lines are inside the belly pan, a leak in a connection could accumulate in a low spot and if/when it got ignition it would be like a bomb. Besides, you would have to remove the belly pan to check connections, and to get to any shut off valves.

I understand wanting to simplify thing, but think yours is a bad idea.

"The further a society drifts from the truth, the more it will hate those that speak it." George Orwell

'08 34' SO, '12 Ram 2500 4X4, Big 6 cylinder sludge burner.
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 05:00 AM   #3
Formally 'tiger'

1974 Argosy 28
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Wauwatosa , Wisconsin
I may be wrong but I believe there is a 'code' to follow. Like building codes. As far as LP gas lines, other than the final connection at the appliance, all fittings (T's and shut-off valves, etc) must be outside the trailer. Less chance of any leaks filling the cabin. I'm not sure of plastic lines.
Ask someone who restores trailers. Like Colin Hyde. He is here on the forums.
Either way I would install a LP detector in your unit.
Old 03-07-2014, 05:21 AM   #4
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
Metairie , Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeocamperAS View Post