Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-22-2013, 02:19 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1966 24' Tradewind
Burnaby , British Columbia
How to test gas pressure and bleed gas lines?

hi all! newbie here with a 66 trade winds. Having issues lighting my water heater. Nuthin! the heater has probably not been started I over a year, but is fairly new. It is a suburban SW6pE. do not think I am getting fuel at the water heater. The stove does work though, although the flame is "tepid" for lack of a better word. I do have propane in one tank. I switched the tank over last week, so it should be basically full.

I have tried holding down the pilot with a flame applied for as long as a minute with no success. I have pressed the reset.

I have read the manual over and over until I want to scream. I feel like it was written in Greek!

other threads have suggested testing gas pressure, and also have suggested bleeding the lines. I have no idea how to do either of these things! any tips?

Also, I have read a lot about thermocouplers but I don't know what one actually is, what is does or where it might be located! Lol....

It's getting too cold for cold showers! any help is most appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-818893465.jpg
Views:	273
Size:	167.8 KB
ID:	196207  
maggieevans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 02:35 PM   #2
JT

1973 27' Overlander
El Paso , Texas
The flow of propane through the pilot light is small and it can take several minutes to evacuate the line of air. I usually light the cook-top first if the gas has been off for a month or two to get the propane to that point then light the water heater.
jimbob79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 02:41 PM   #3
JT

1973 27' Overlander
El Paso , Texas