Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-03-2004, 08:00 PM   #1
BJo
1 Rivet Member

How full is the propane tank?

I'm still pretty new to the use of propane. I was using the oven the other evening & it quit working - the propane tank was empty. We took it to our local propane place & they replaced the valve on top & filled the tank. I asked the serviceman if there was a gauge or something we could purchase that would indicate the amount of fuel remaining in the tank. He said there was not. Beside physically removing the tank & shaking it, is there any way to tell about how much is left?
BJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 08:36 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2005 31' Classic
Gretna , Nebraska
Welcome,

Do you have one tank, or two? On my trailer I have two propane tanks, and a regulator/switch that draws gas from one tank. When that tank is empty, it automatically draws from the second tank, and shows a "red flag" to indicate that it has switched over. That is my signal to turn off the empty one, disconnect it and get it filled while the second tank supplies my needs.

Dwight
16595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 08:46 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2001 34' Limited S/O
Moyock , North Carolina