Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-20-2013, 01:39 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1993 21' Sovereign
austin , Texas
hot water heater G6A-6E for '92 Sovereign

i am a newbie,my hwh for the sovereign will not light off, at the beginning , the di light would come on, and pilot would light with lighter, then nothing,
so i thought it was the electronic board, i cleaned all the connection, etc. well i brought a new circuit board and and spark probe, installed, the di light came on 1 time , then nothing, i can get a good flame on pilot if i light it with lighter. but nothing else. i really did not want to buy gas valve, might be easier to replace unit, for twice price of gas valve, i did not want to deal with headaches that might cause. or i was wondering just replace it with a manual system. more simpler for me , well i am in middle of this, suggestions would be appreciated. leo
leolken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 03:12 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
If you can light it manually and it works. Why buy a new manual unit?
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:36 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1993 21' Sovereign
austin , Texas
main burner only comes on partially , very low flame and then shuts off, i will look for a voltage drop somewhere. i have water in tank, but not water hose going to it, and look into changing temp stat and eco, there had been a electrical arc at stat,
Old 10-21-2013, 11:20 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska