Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2014, 09:48 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1982 31' Excella
City , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 43
Does anyone know anything about tank capacity sending units?

I'm doing up a 82ft Excella. The monitor panel has a rocker switch which is supposed to indicate the amount of propane in the either the kerbside or roadside tanks. At the top of the tanks there are two unconnected wires and it seems likely that these two wires are meant to be attached to some kind of electric/electronic measuring and sending device for each tank.

I have searched various AS suppliers and can't find any such devices other than the gauge type. Because I haven't found them particularly interested or helpful in the past I don't want to call AS. So, does anyone know if the senders are available and if so from whom?

Thanks in advance,

Norm.
__________________

__________________
AFUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 10:02 PM   #2
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Hi Norm

The only sending units for propane level are indeed the gauge type. There have been a couple of different types over the years but all require a tank that was originally manufactured with a float in it. Vintage Trailer Supply has the tanks and parts.
__________________

__________________
To learn to see below the surface, you must adjust your altitude
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 07:18 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,648
There is a sensor head that clamps over the gage head I believe. I have never seen how these work so I would be interested as well. The problem is that to use your old tanks, the floats have to be removed and replaced with an OPD valve that does not have the gage in it. They do make a double bung tank now so the valve is in one hole and the gage is in another. They are not cheap.

Perry
__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 08:29 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
RickDavis's Avatar

 
1961 24' Tradewind
1969 29' Ambassador
1970 21' Globetrotter
Jamestown , Tennessee
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,781
The original valves had a connection to read the tank level.. When the law changed and the tank valves were upgraded to OPD valves around 15 years ago that particular feature was lost. Thus the wires hanging there.

You can ball park the level by pouring hot water over the tank and feeling for where the colder area starts. Works best when using gas at that time
__________________
Rick Davis 1602 K8DOC
61 tradewind, plus a few others
13 Ram 2500 TD
99 Dodge TD 577K miles

RickDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 08:49 AM   #5
TinCan
 
graysailor's Avatar

 
2016 30' Classic
Apache Junction , Arizona
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 798
Typically these devices that measure propane levels usually do not work. The only thing that works well is a fiberglass tank that you can actually visually see the propane level. In my 2013 Cloud I discovered that the system Airstream uses is also inaccurate. While the arrow that pointed to the tank that I was using indicated partially full I discovered that both tanks needed filling.
__________________
TinCan
graysailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 09:08 AM   #6
retired USA/USAF

 
2001 30' Excella
Somerset , New Jersey
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,157
Pickim up and shake em. Works every time.
__________________
Roger in NJ

" Democracy is the worst form of government. Except for all the rest"
Winston Churchill 1948

TAC - NJ 18

polarlyse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 11:20 AM   #7
Overland Adventurer
 
AtomicNo13's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
2009 34' Panamerica
Telluride , Colorado
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,885
Those transparent lpg tanks csm rupture and have all been recalled. Illegal to refill.
__________________
AtomicNo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 09:22 PM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
1982 31' Excella
City , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 43
Thanks for the interesting information folks. Since I read all your replies I have been giving it some thought. I like the simplicity and economics of the switching when one is empty two tank solution. However, from an engineering aspect I don't think it's too much of a problem to generate quantity remaining signals from the tanks using a non invasive method. So far it seems to me that the problem could be the costs associated with converting the signals to a digital readout.

When I'm finished with the Excella refurbishing and a couple of other projects I have on the go I'll do some experiments and I'll post the results.

Thanks again,

Norm.
__________________
AFUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 09:53 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
Commercial Member
 
acstokes's Avatar
 
2009 30' Classic
Melbourne, FL , Searsport, ME
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 309
This is the gauge I have on my 2 40 gal. aluminum LP tanks. The two wires from each tank are routed to my Micropulse Systems Monitor and show the gas level. Mine give accurate readings of the level in each. Pricey, but they work. I have found them from another seller for $50 each.
http://www.amazon.com/Manchester-562.../dp/B00EP1R2AG
__________________
Fred Stokes
RV Rearview Camera Systems, LLC
WBCCI #2810
acstokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 06:37 AM   #10
Overland Adventurer
 
AtomicNo13's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
2009 34' Panamerica
Telluride , Colorado
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,885
That same sending unit is.$11 at VTS
__________________
AtomicNo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 08:28 AM   #11
TinCan
 
graysailor's Avatar

 
2016 30' Classic
Apache Junction , Arizona
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 798
Only the tanks from Lite Cylinder have been recalled. I believe others are still safe to use. They also have a strip that you can place on the outside of the tank that measures the temp of the tank indicating the fullness. Again, I don't believe there is any really accurate way to measure propane.
__________________
TinCan
graysailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 09:12 AM   #12
Overland Adventurer
 
AtomicNo13's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
2009 34' Panamerica
Telluride , Colorado
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,885
I received notice from opinion cylinder last fall as well.

I think the coach recalled all of these....
__________________
AtomicNo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 09:16 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
RickDavis's Avatar

 
1961 24' Tradewind
1969 29' Ambassador
1970 21' Globetrotter
Jamestown , Tennessee
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,781
You most likely have an automatic change over regulator . Just leave both tanks valves open. When it changes from tank one to tank 2 the indicator should tell you ( mine turns from green to red) After you flip the regulator to tank 2 it will turn green again. you can remove tank 1 and get it filled. No interuption in gas supply or waking up cold in the morning.
__________________
Rick Davis 1602 K8DOC
61 tradewind, plus a few others
13 Ram 2500 TD
99 Dodge TD 577K miles

RickDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 09:29 AM   #14
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by graysailor View Post
Typically these devices that measure propane levels usually do not work. The only thing that works well is a fiberglass tank that you can actually visually see the propane level. In my 2013 Cloud I discovered that the system Airstream uses is also inaccurate. While the arrow that pointed to the tank that I was using indicated partially full I discovered that both tanks needed filling.
Actually, your regulator was working as designed. When there's sufficient gas pressure in both tanks and the valves are open, the regulator should show full green. When the active tank is empty and the regulator switches over to the 2nd tank, it shows half green/half red to indicate that it's time to fill tank 1, which you still have LP in tank 2 to supply the trailer.

PS: By the time it reads full red, your tanks are essentially empty.
__________________

__________________
— David

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto — 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone know anything about this?? pinktrailer Airstream Lifestyle 10 08-08-2011 06:23 PM
Propane tank sending units SteveH LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 6 11-17-2008 09:57 PM
Does anyone know anything about putting safety skids on axles? 1959newbie Axles 7 05-01-2006 06:59 AM
Propane Tanks with Sending Units adchisholm LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 6 08-06-2005 11:23 AM
Does this number mean anything to anyone? Gigawatt WBCCI Forum 10 06-22-2005 06:39 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.