Old 02-17-2013, 02:03 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
1959 22' Flying Cloud
Los Gatos , California
cleaning soot

So i tried the furnace in my old 1957 for the first time a few weeks ago. It seemed to work well, though i noticed the pilot light flame seemed kind of big. I only used it for about 5 days for an hour or so in the evening and then I would turn it off. One the 6th day I accidently forgot and left the pilot on all night, and then all day while I was at work. When I got home i opened the door to strong smell of burning paint. The front of the furnace grates was burned and covered with soot. A very thin layer of black soot covered all the walls and surfaces. What a disaster! After doing some research everything seems to point to not enough air circulation. I took the chimney cap off and the whole chimney is filled with black soot!

I am not an expert in any of this. How do i clean the chimney pipe? Its 3" diameter. Its hard to find brushes the right size. How do I clean the soot out off the walls without destroying the paint??? Will i have to repaint??

whispersiren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 03:46 PM   #2
Rivet Master
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Biggest problem is the furnace shouldn't be used until you check out its air supply, you are very lucky not to have been overcome with carbon monoxide.
In an out of the way place try Greased Lightning, but don't leave it on painted surfaces long it will remove most paint.

DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:19 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
1965 30' Sovereign
Ottumwa , Iowa
for the vent if its 3 in this is not the best but go to walmart and buy a dryer vent brush there 3 in. if you have a dollar general close to you they have a cleaning product called awesome its cheap and it has cleaned everything i have thrown at it. and i work for an asphalt paving company as there mechaniac so i have tested it very well i like the stuff
cjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote